Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Chariot Energy are the order experience, rated at 3.8 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 3.7 of 5.
5 Stars
41%
 
4 Stars
19%
 
3 Stars
9%
 
2 Stars
3%
 
1 Stars
28%
 

Recent Good Review from cmedlin58

A good provider
Even though I am no longer with Chariot, they did provide excellent overall service and customer service. I only had a problem once, and it was corrected by an executive manager.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cmedlin58 from Fort Worth, TX on May 4th, 2021


Our Analysis of Chariot Energy

Complaint Resolution
5.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Community Outreach
4.9 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
4.5 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
4.3 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Market Perception
2.1 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Rewards
0.6 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No title
Dropped my bill from over $400 to less than $200 during the 2 months that were the highest in usage. This month was less than $100. We have not had electric bills this low in 35 years. Only regret is that we didn't change a long time ago !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R. P. from Bangs, TX on April 12th, 2021
This is great to hear, R.P.! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your new, lower rate. Thanks for giving us a try.
— Chariot Energy
Great customer service!
My wife needed proof of residency to apply for credit card when we recently moved to new house. I called customer service and they got us a letter of residency as proof for Chase bank within hours. Thank goodness their customer service works in terms of hours instead of days!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Trung Nguyen from Lavon, TX on March 16th, 2021
Trung, we strive for world class customer experience. Glad we were able to help you out. Thank you for your loyalty as a Chariot Energy customer!
— Chariot Energy
Easy Change & Low Price
I switched to Chariot Energy from Reliant after six years. The account change-over was easy and the pricing is great! I get weekly energy use statistics and on-line access to my account. It's renewable energy at a great price from a good company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Q Thompson from Spring, TX on March 1st, 2021
So glad to hear you've joined Chariot, Q. Simplicity and transparency are what we strive to accomplish, so it's great to hear cases of this being achieved!
— Chariot Energy
Awesome Communication
Chariot Energy has some of the most proactive communications I have ever had with an electric company. I got an email before the Feb 21 snow storm saying you might have a higher bill because of the weather. It included recommendations for lowering it. Then during the cold spell I received my normal weekly usage report email.
Now after, they sent an email apologizing for any delay in contacting their customers because even their customer services were without power. Then they confirmed that I was on a fixed rate plan and I did not have to worry about a high bill.
Very proactive and it is appreciated.
BTW-I locked in for a 3yr fixed wind energy rate of avg 8.9 cents/kWh so great rates too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill G from Rowlett, TX on February 25th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback, Bill. We hope you have recovered from the storm and thank you for being a local Chariot Energy customer.
— Chariot Energy
Chariot Energy !!!!
I like Chariot Energy, I love the weekly reports they give.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Garcia Household from Pasadena, TX on February 2nd, 2021
Thank you for the review, Garcia Household! We appreciate your loyalty to Chariot Energy.
— Chariot Energy
Very happy with them
Just switched from another provider. Very happy to use sustainable energy for such low price. Their website and customer service are very good, and they said they planted a tree on my behalf, which is a small thing but it's nice of them to have such projects. Highly recommended!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Houston, TX on January 29th, 2020
Thank your for the glowing review! We're glad you value our services and hope to have your business for many years to come.
— Chariot Energy
Very pleased!
We found the process easy and the rates very acceptable. Very pleased with Chariot Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Watsons from Grand Prairie, TX on October 8th, 2019
Thank you for the glowing review! Glad you found the enrollment process to be so easy and we appreciate you instilling your trust in Chariot Energy.
— Chariot Energy
Totally painless.. great technology!
Enrollment process was seamless. No 'gotcha' stuff. Just simple low, fixed price. 100% clean power through solar farms in Texas!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mo Ali from Stafford, TX on August 21st, 2019
Mo, this is great to hear! We strive for transparency and glad you experienced that. We appreciate your business.
— Chariot Energy
Competitive Offers for Renewable Plans
Competitive rates and an easy signup process. They did a good job on their website and bill pay portal. Very intuitive and easy to use.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim from Tomball, TX on August 19th, 2019
Thank you for the review Tim! Glad to hear you are enjoying our website and rates!
— Chariot Energy
Awesome
My bill is so low and no hidden fees, also 100% renewable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ashley from Spring, TX on August 14th, 2019
Ashley, we feel the same. There's no reason why clean power should cost more than power from other sources. Thanks for your business!
— Chariot Energy


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
A good provider
Even though I am no longer with Chariot, they did provide excellent overall service and customer service. I only had a problem once, and it was corrected by an executive manager.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cmedlin58 from Fort Worth, TX on May 4th, 2021
Freaked out and changed companies after the freeze and price gouging
I was so desperate to get a locked rate that I signed on for a pretty high rate but Chariot had better overall ratings than some of the lower priced plans. The one thing that disappointed me was they forced me to make a deposit of 175 when I have never been late on a bill since I moved in my house in 1997. And my credit rating is EXCELLENT. Irritating. I will probably look for another plan in a year for no other reason than the demand for a deposit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Debbie from Houston, TX on April 20th, 2021
Thank you, Debbie. We appreciate you instilling your trust in Chariot Energy!
— Chariot Energy
Survey
So far good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maria Kurvano from Del Rio, TX on January 31st, 2021
Woo hoo! Welcome aboard, Maria!
— Chariot Energy
Good so far.
Everything went smoothly changing from our previous provider. Weekly emails detail our usage and monthly bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fred from Weslaco, TX on August 19th, 2020
Thank you, Fred. We're so glad to hear the early indications of your Chariot Energy experience have been favorable. We appreciate your business!
— Chariot Energy
Amazing Company, AutoPay Needs Work
Chariot is a fantastic company. I love having affordable renewable energy powering everything in my house. Plus. it's really great getting an email detailing how my weekly and monthly electricity usage fluctuates--it really shows the impact that conservation efforts have.
The only complaint I've ever had was in regards to AutoPay: when I first set it up it doesn't tell you it has to be a certain number of days before the bill is due for it take effect. I ended up getting a late payment email, and when I called to clarify the customer service rep was very helpful. They took my payment right there and reduced the late fee I owed. I will be sticking with Chariot for as long as I am in Texas!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jacob from Fort Worth, TX on June 27th, 2020
Jacob - Thank you for the kind words! We appreciate your patience with the auto-pay hiccup. Our customers are our most valuable form of feedback and we wouldn't be able to provide our customers with the best possible service, without feedback from folks like you. We're glad you've committed to us for the long haul.
— Chariot Energy
Set Up Auto Pay Day 1
I enjoy their weekly feedback on electric usage. The billing is a bit awkward but I called them and the autopay is working now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Adjuster from Roanoke, TX on April 20th, 2020
Thank you for the kind words, Adjuster! We appreciate the feedback and will certainly review our billing process to identify opportunities for improvement. We're glad to hear you enjoy seeing your weekly usage report!
— Chariot Energy



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Average billing is anything but
I have no issues with Chariot's rates or service. Their so-called "Budget Billing", however, is a crock. If you're expecting it to act like average billing from any other provider, think again. They actually reconcile the plan every six months, which means that a couple of months after the hot summer I received a bill for more than double the normal averaged bill. So instead of average billing all they're doing is kicking the can down the road for a few months. It would have been better to have paid the extra over the summer months. As my dear departed mother would have said, "Whoever came up with this doesn't have the sense God gave a billy goat." Rest assured that when my contract ends I'll be looking for a provider that understands the purpose of average billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kathiec from Garland, TX on December 14th, 2020
Hello! We apologize this has been your experience with Chariot. Please email us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com, we would love to look into and assist you further and see if there is a better plan for you.
— Chariot Energy
Poor customer service
I get paid once a month and asked to have my due date moved forward by a FEW DAYS (like 3-5 days). They wouldn't change my due date because I wasn't drawing social security. We're in the middle of a pandemic, and this is how they treat their customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CynAMe from Fort Worth, TX on September 15th, 2020
Hi there. I understand you have since spoken with our head of operations and customer care and we have reconciled this issue. We want you to know we value your business and appreciate your understanding and loyalty to Chariot Energy. If you ever have any additional questions, concerns or comments, please let us know by calling 855-524-2746.
— Chariot Energy
Month bill very High
Looks for watt details on bill i only switched for the cheaper watt but my bill is higher
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Issy from Fresno, TX on June 27th, 2020
Issy, sorry to hear your bill went up. We are getting into peak usage season, when we're all using more electricity than normal. We'd love the opportunity to walk you through your bill to explain. Please shoot an email to customercare@mychariotenergy.com and someone will reach out to discuss. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss.
— Chariot Energy



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Hidden fees
Went with a solar buyback plan. The CenterPoint fees are more than I pay for the electricity. In the winter, I should be be generating a credit. Instead, I'm paying 50$ a month. Summer is going to be rough.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CenterPoint Fees Outrageous from Humble, TX on December 28th, 2020
We are very sorry to hear you are not satisfied with your solar buyback plan! Centerpoint fees are not something that Chariot charges, but passes through. Please email us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com, we would love to look into and assist you further.
— Chariot Energy



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
WORST EXPERIENCE EVER
Should have option for -100 stars! Chariot has got to be the most incompetent, worst customer service experience I have EVER had in 52 years! I had been w/them for over a year, transferred service at which time I found out how truly inept they are-they set up a whole new acct #, transferred my deposit as a DEBIT not a credit-after spending weeks calling & going over this repeatedly, at which time they were supposed to fix everything & waive late fees that weren't late, I told them they were simply too inept, changing providers! Now today get a call that I owe them $200+ due to "service contract fee" and they didn't waive any of their mistakes...WORST customer service EVER, stay away! Choose any one else!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tamsanangel from Dallas, TX on April 19th, 2021
Hi there. We are sorry to hear about your experience with Chariot Energy - this is certainly not the norm. We would like to ask you for the opportunity to make good on this. Someone from our customer care team will be in touch. We appreciate your loyalty and value your business as a Chariot customer and sincerely apologize for your bad experience.
— Chariot Energy
Farmers Branch should not have recommended them!
My highest bill with old company was $127. Chariot said they would charge less. I just got a bill for $210! They cannot explain why. I find them very unhelpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frankie Reed from Dallas, TX on January 25th, 2021
Hi there. We take tremendous pride in our customer care and transparency and apologies for any confusion. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concern as this does not something Chariot Energy would do. Please reach out at your earliest convenience by calling 855-524-2746 or customercare@mychariotenergy.com.
— Chariot Energy
Terrible customer service if you call there number you will be on hold forever. .
I did not find a negative 5 stars on here for the customer service if your waiting for a live customer service agent good luck. And it did not matter how many times I changed my password I could not log into my account. I say run away as fast as you can. there prices looked cheaper than I was paying I'm not sure about the quality of there power. unless you want to sleep with your phone next to your pillow and pray that someone sees you waiting. this is why I hate giving reviews I am too honest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elbert from Odessa, TX on January 23rd, 2021
We're sorry to hear this! We hate for any of our customers to have a negative experience with Chariot Energy. Please give us a call, so we can make things right. 855-5-CHARIOT. You can also shoot an email to customercare@mychariotenergy.com. Our deepest apologies for this issue!
— Chariot Energy
Too High
This company is a scam. They are super expensive. The agents are rude each time I call in and they text my phone with wrong information.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Use This Company from Lewisville, TX on January 15th, 2021
Hello! We apologize this has been your experience with Chariot. Please email us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com, we would love to look into and assist you further.
— Chariot Energy
Customer service
I was lied to from the start.... I don't like being lied to, and will not do business with a company that lies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lied To A Customer from Dallas, TX on September 3rd, 2020
Hi there. We take tremendous pride in our customer care and transparency and apologies for any confusion. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concern as this does not something Chariot Energy would do. Please reach out at your earliest convenience by calling 855-524-2746 or customercare@mychariotenergy.com.
— Chariot Energy
Horrible ....
Did absolutely nothing for people who lost their income due to COVID19 - Bill was due on the June 4th ... late fees and disconnect notice received on the 8th .... 4 days late in a pandemic ... Good job Chariot Energy way to show your true colors... I will make sure to share your great business practices with the world. I am sure everyone will line up to do business with a company without compassion.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KDel from Richardson, TX on June 8th, 2020
KDel, we understand we're in uncertain times and have provided resources to help customers struggling to pay their bill on time during this pandemic. We also offer deferred payment options and will do what we can to help. In the future, please let us know if you need a little extra time paying your bill and we can discuss your options - we have several. Just give us a call at 855-524-2746.
— Chariot Energy
Disconnect Notice For One Business Day Late?
Please read this before you sign up with Chariot Energy! Each month, the due date changes...from the 6th then to the 5th the following month then to the 4th the following month, etc. Well, due to the due date changing each month, I was 1 Business Day Late & they charged me a disconnect fee of over $10 on an $80 Electric Bill. Yes, they put my account on Notice to be disconnected for being 1 business day late. Truly sad! I have never ever experienced being put on notice for disconnection for being late one business day with any other electricity company in my life.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rod from Cypress, TX on April 6th, 2020
Hey Rod. Thanks for reaching out. We have provided a one-time courtesy credit of $10 to your account. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at customercare@mychariotenergy.com or 855-5-CHARIOT.
— Chariot Energy
Disconnect Notice DNP Fee $10.37 + Late Fee 1.44 charged to account 2 days after Due date
Disconnect Notice DNP Fee $10.37 + Late Fee 1.44 charged to account 2 days after Due date .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Irate Fee Recipient from Tyler, TX on March 28th, 2020
Please give us a call or send us an email. We would like to address this with you directly and would be happy to provide you with a one-time courtesy credit on the late charge. Our email is customercare@mychariotenergy.com and phone number is 855-5-CHARIOT. Thank you for your business with Chariot Energy!
— Chariot Energy
Horrible Service
Get a bill 6-8 days before due and then you have 1 option to pay and that is auto bill or credit card over the phone because for some reason it takes 2-3 weeks for them to receive payment via mail or bank. Sounds like they are making up cost in late fees. Will be cancelling service with these people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry Customer from Houston, TX on January 8th, 2020
We're sorry to hear this! We hate for any of our customers to have a negative experience with Chariot Energy. Please give us a call, so we can make things right. 855-5-CHARIOT. You can also shoot an email to customercare@mychariotenergy.com. Our deepest apologies for this issue!
— Chariot Energy



All Chariot Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
13.1¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$131 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
12.1¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$121 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
60 Month Fixed Rate
60 month
Fixed Rate
12.0¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$120 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month