Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.
5 Stars
4%
 
4 Stars
5%
 
3 Stars
1%
 
2 Stars
16%
 
1 Stars
74%
 

Recent Good Review from James Caywood

Easy
When light got cutoff they turn them back on quickly
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James Caywood from Channelview, TX on July 31st, 2020


Our Analysis of Frontier Utilities

Community Outreach
4.9 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
3.5 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
3.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
2.5 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
2.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Market Perception
1.8 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Review
Good. Hope it stays that way.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frances Davis from Athens, TX on February 14th, 2020
Excellent Power Choice
From start until now, simple and no rate surprises!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ann Sanders from Tyler, TX on June 4th, 2019
Sad to let you go!!!
I had an amazing rate for a one year period. I have no complaints with your service and I wish I could keep you for another term. However, I will have to let you go because your new rates are not even close to my expiring contract. I recommend your service...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Laredo, TX on January 21st, 2019
Great Rates
I have been with Frontier for a few years now and will continue to renew my plan with them for as long as I can because I have yet to find a company which can beat their rates! I have also experienced great follow up and resolution to a previous inquiry from their customer service team.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Juana from North Richland Hills, TX on December 15th, 2017
Juana, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you are a customer of Frontier Utilities. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities!
— Frontier Utilities
Great plan
Excellent customer service by franky.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sana from Dallas, TX on November 21st, 2017
Sana, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you are a customer of Frontier Utilities. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities!
— Frontier Utilities
FINALLY - Only Electric Company that does not bold face lie!
Been in Texas 20 years now and every year I shop for a new electric company until now since Frontier continues to renew me at the best rate I can find! And the rate is exactly as they said it would be!! All, and I mean at least 10 different power providers, that I have used in the past would bold face lie to me and say yes you will only pay (~8 to 12 cents per Kw-Hour) and every time there was hidden fees that they lied to me and said "there are no hidden fees". Note fees are still not straight forward, but get them to calculate what your monthly bill will be at 500kw-Hr, 1000kw-Hr, 1500kw-Hr before you sign up then once you receive a bill you'll see if you were lied to (Frontier was the only one that my bill is very close to what it should be at 500kw-Hr per month).
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JeffH from Houston, TX on June 24th, 2017
Hi Jeff. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We definitely appreciate it. It's nice to know that you acknowledged that we provided you with the rate and fees upfront as that is what we strive to do for all of our customers. Hope you enjoy the service and thank you for choosing Frontier Utilities. If you ever have any questions or concerns please give us a call at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Have a great day!
— Frontier Utilities
Excellent
We've only been with frontier for a short time but are so very pleased with the experience so far. They're rates our great, customer service is fantastic, and signing up was quick and easy. Already we've save a LOT of many by switching over. So glad we did.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alana from Watauga on December 5th, 2014
Easy set-up and fair price
Best price among all the suppliers in the area, activation on time, friendly customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jose Diaz from Katy on December 5th, 2014



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Easy
When light got cutoff they turn them back on quickly
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James Caywood from Channelview, TX on July 31st, 2020
Love frontier
I love my fixed rate for my electricity but now that my contract is up next week my renewal rate is double which means I will be leaving. I guess one year of great rates is all I get.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

One Year Servcie from Mcallen, TX on August 8th, 2018
Happy Resolution
I was very upset to see that my double the amount that usually pay per month, I called Frontier Utilities and to my surprise they answered immediately, the customer service agent David was very attentive and kind, he explained me the charges for the past 3 invoices, let me tell you. I felt really bad when I realized that I forgot to send my payment, I usually let my husband pay this bill, but since he failed to make the payment I will be taking over this duty. David also told me that I can pay online and he guide me how to register online to avoid late fees. I am glad I call and I was able to resolve this issue immediately.
Alicia
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alicia R. from Tomball, TX on June 7th, 2018
Hello Mrs. Alicia R. Thank you kindly for your five-star rating. We really appreciate you for taking the time to share your good experience. Please contact us at Care@Frontierutilities.com or call us at 1866-926-8192 if you have any questions or concerns in the future. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities as your electricity supplier!
Sincerely
Amin S.
— Frontier Utilities
RE: Bad Customer Service is now GREAT!
I did have an experience and I was shocked that someone (Sophia) contacted me on a SATURDAY! I was very impressed. She was very courteous and professional. She was willing to help me and completely understood my situation. I am now absolutely pleased with Frontier's customer service and would definitely recommend them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lezlie from Dallas, TX on October 22nd, 2017
Ms. Jones, thank you for your feedback and we're are glad you are a customer of Frontier Utilities. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities!
— Frontier Utilities
Awesome Utilities
I enjoy paying the same price every month but I hate that my billing cycle ends on the 27th of the month and there is no grace period. I would prefer a billing cycle that ends within the 1st ten days of the month. And frontier would not change it. Otherwise they are a 5 star company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dee from Arlington, TX on April 2nd, 2017
Hi Dee. Thank you for your feedback. Would you mind providing your account number and a good call back number so I can speak with you regarding your account please? Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
Verry happy with the rate and the service
I switched from Reliant to Frontier. Best decision ever! Not only did I get much better customer service and no longer have to wait an hour on the phone to talk to a Reliant representative, I also got rid of my 15 cents rate that Reliant charged me for over 3 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Patrick K from Houston on May 19th, 2016
No problems at all in 6 months
I switched to Frontier 6 months ago because they had the best rate. I wasn't thrilled initially with their customer service and had a few calls that I was on hold for quite a while. I made the change anyhow and haven't had to contact them since. My bills have been correct. The weekly email with a usage summary is a plus. My contract is ending and I am shopping for rates. If Frontier is competitive, I won't hesitate to stay with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karen from Trophy Club on January 8th, 2015
One of the best electric company
I had this company for a year. I checked my bills very closely and nevr had to call questioning my bill. I left them only because I had solar installed and the solar company told me I need TXU. Thanks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Aley Jacob from Desoto on December 1st, 2014
Great Choice!
I have had Frontier for the past year now, and I have had absolutely no issues with them. When I initially signed up, I was told I would receive a $20 bill credit every month that my usage exceeds 1000kwh; I received the credit every single month. One thing that I love above Frontier, which I think sets them apart from other providers, is that they send me a summary of my energy usage every single week (via email) so I know how much my usage varies week to week, but more importantly, it gives me a very good idea of how much my bill will be at the end of the month. In the year since I have had Frontier, I have had absolutely no reasons to call them. I receive my bills electronically, and my account is auto draft. I would truly recommend them to anyone. Unfortunately my one year contract is coming to an end so I am shopping around for lower rates (as I do every year), but honestly my experience with Frontier has been superb. If I do not find any rates that beat the one they are currently offering me to renew, I will stick with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Diana P from Spring on September 8th, 2014



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great for first time customers
The No Hidden Fees plan I chose was great value this year. The renewal plans they offered me when it expired are not so great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mitch from Wichita Falls, TX on January 20th, 2020
The company good in a pinch!!!!!
This company's ok in a pinch .one thing I don't think people realize is your no getting sufficient power to power your electrical appliances at times and that is reducing the life of them and thus costing you more money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Switch To Txu,the Smart Thing To Do.. from Athens, TX on August 15th, 2018
Hello Ms. Kimberly Britt,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I would like to speak with you regarding your concerns about the power load you received in your home. Frontier Utilities as any other Retail provider only bills you for the electricity you use, we have no control of the energy delivered to your home, the Utility Company has control of the electricity load, feel free to contact me directly at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com to answer any questions you may have. I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Araceli R.
— Frontier Utilities



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

31 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
DUE DATE
Do NOT sign up with Frontier ele if you need to pay your bill on the 1st! I signed up with them on the 1st and they made my due date 6 days BEFORE the first, NOW if I dont pay it on the 26th it is considered LATE! I am retired and get paid on the 1st of the month and I pay bills on the 1st! THEY WILL NOT WORK WITH A CUSTOMER AND HAVE THE DUE DATE ON THE 1ST! I THINK THEY DO THIS ON PURPOSE TO MAKE THAT LATE FEE. I HAVE BEGGED THEM TO CHANGE THE DUE DATE TO THE 1ST AND THEY WILL ( NOT) DO IT. IM BARELY MAKING IT AS IT IS.I WOULDNT NEVER BE LATE IF I COULD JUST PAY MY BILL ON THE 1ST OF THE MONTH! DONT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY IF YOU NEED TO PAY YOUR BILL ON THE FIRST. ITS SAD TO TREAT CUSTOMERS LIKE THIS WHEN TIMES ARE HARD ENOUGH AS IT IS. PLEASE BEWARE. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. DONT LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU LIKE IT DID TO ME. THANKS.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karen S from Arlington, TX on November 2nd, 2020
Hi Karen S, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Overcharge
I have been with Frontier for 4 years, each July, when I am due to renew, they "fail" to receive my renewal and upcharge me. This month it equals over $200 over, not to mention they are charging late fees and disconnection fees when bills are paid on time. This is a pattern with Frontier, I would avoid them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jillian from Dallas, TX on August 21st, 2020
Expensive
You may get a somewhat fair rate at the beginning, with a contract; but once your contract is over, be ready to pay 2-3 times your average bill. You get one notice maybe 2 months ahead that your contract is about to end, but no warning about how your bill will sky rocket.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Irvingboss from Irving, TX on August 12th, 2020
Non-existent customer service
It is impossible to speak to a customer service rep. You have no problem speaking to Sales though!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kidjones from Dallas, TX on August 10th, 2020
Unbelievable
It started off okay until they threatened to cut my bill off for $12 it's a shame they have no roll over on your bills I wouldn't recommend it to no one. And the worst part is it's covid-19 people barely can have a job right now
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mika from Houston, TX on July 27th, 2020
Remember your Contract Expiration!
I was never reminded by Frontier that my contract was expiring. All others have sent that reminder. Then they jacked up the price on the next month, it was more than double! Just want to warn people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bootgirl from Beasley, TX on July 14th, 2020
Bootgirl, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Feeling Scammed.
I was coming up at the end of my contract so I called to end my tides with Frontier. I decided to go with another company after being informed about my services set up to be the same price no matter if I was using less than 1200 whatever and could have had paid a lower amount in the fall months when I don't need to run the heat or AC. Well after an hour the rep had offered me a better deal and said he would waive the charges for the late fee. Today I had to talk to a rep because I was charged an additional $28.00 for being late just one day. I asked for that fee to be waived and was told that I have been given 1 and that it had to be approved, she told me she will send me a text with confirmation or a decline, 6 hours plus, and nothing. I can't find out where I can file a complaint, so I decided to write this review. I have a son with severe Asthma who uses a nebulizer daily can hardly afford the 163.00 I owe let alone an additional 28.00 dollars and I can't have my utilities shut off. At this point, I want to end my relation have the contract waived without the early termination fee. If I was told that a 28.00 fee will automatically apply a 28.00 dollar fee I would have declined to agree to another term. Just what to pay what I owe and move on. Ridiculous to charge customers $28.00 late fee for being 1 day late especially with this Co-vid 19 mess affecting people's income and they can barely pay rent or put food on the table.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ronie from Houston, TX on July 7th, 2020
Ronie, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Price gouging company
Just before contract expires make sure to renew with them or another company as Frontier will price gouge you with an astonishing rate per kilowatt that youve never seen before. Once they know you have switched beware, no loyalty!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark M from Denton, TX on April 17th, 2020
Good Afternoon Mark M,
Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide competitive rates for you when it comes time to renew. If you can please send an email to care@frontierutilities.com and provide me with your account number, I can have an agent go over our rates we have to offer in your area. There maybe something else we can offer you that may be lower then what you are currently paying now. Thanks.
— Frontier Utilities
Worst billing company in the industry
I've been paying a utility bill for over 30 years. In all this time I have NEVER received an email, text AND phone call 1 day after it was due threatening disconnection for non payment. They do offer days to get it paid before they disconnect service but to even do that 1 day after it's due?? Very disappointed in this company and will not be renewing my service. In fact, I'll probably be cancelling and going back to my previous provider and pay a higher rate just I won't be HASSLED by these people every day. It will be paid and only 1 week late yet I'm going to be called and hassled every day now until that time. THIS IS RIDICULOUS AND IN NO WAY PROFESSIONAL FOR ELECTRIC SERVICE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PISSED OFF CUSTOMER from Midlothian, TX on November 2nd, 2019
gary_vineyard@hotmail.com,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. We issued the Disconnect notice a day after the due date of your bill, we send you notifications about your invoice due date previously. Please let us know if we can further assist you. We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.


Thank you.
Sincere
— Frontier Utilities
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
Forgot to pay bill so I got a disconnect notice. Sent check by express mail , it cleared my bank and then they cut off power a week after my check cleared my bank. Called them and had to pay again plus disconnect and connect charge. They asked me to send proof of my payment which I faxed to them. They never acknowledged receipt of fax until I called , didnt reverse disconnect and connect charge until I asked and never apologized for their mistake. I was out fax charges , copy charges , time and food in fridge.
DO NOT USE FRONTIER
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Cypress, TX on August 10th, 2019


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

145 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Sketchy Billing Practices
Began electricity service in February 2020. Signed up for Average Billing with a rate of $64.02 per month. I would pay this amount every month (even though my bill would show that I owed $200-$300), and sure as sunshine, 3 weeks later I would received a cut-off notice saying I needed to pay the total listed on the bill. I would call and point out that I am enrolled in Average Billing, at which point the Customer Service Rep would apologize and promise me that I can continue to pay my Average Billing amount each month and that I wouldn't be sent any further cut-off notices. Sure enough, I'd pay my Average Billing Amount the next month, and 3 weeks later would get a cut-off notice. I had to call them EVERY MONTH to keep my service from being cut off. I reluctantly renewed my service for another 12-month term and the same thing keeps happening. Their latest excuse is that their billing system doesn't recognize when a customer is on Average Billing and automatically sends out a cut-off notice if the bill isn't paid in full.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy In Killeen from Killeen, TX on April 30th, 2021
BAD CUTOMER SERVICE
I have been with Frontier for about 3 years & NEVER MISSED A PAYMENT! My husband went into the hospital for his heart & stent put in 4/8 & got out 4/15. My bill was due on 4/16 & got a call from a very rude person saying is was due. I told her I just forgot & if she could take off late charges for the first time & she said SORRY, IT WAS ALREADY CHARGE, WHAT. I emailed Frontier on 4/19 & explained & told them if they did not remove this late charge I would not be coming back & would post the email I sent with no response. So here we are. This is NOT a good company to do business with, they are very cold & do not care about their customers, as you can see.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Johnson from Temple, TX on April 23rd, 2021
Hi Johnson , our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email care@frontierutilities.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
Absolutely not consumer friendly
Since i've setup an account after moving in, I've had nothing but difficulty signing in to my account just to pay my bill. I've tried to reset my password and it's saying my email doesn't exist yet I have several emails from the company already.
They are also taxing for no reason and I've only been late one month so far and yet have additional charges for seemingly no reason. The winter storm that happened this past month was devastating but they have not been lenient at all. Ive tried to call but was put on hold for over 30+ minutes just to get disconnected. A greedy company that only wants your money. After the year is up, will definitely be switching companies
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jonathan from Euless, TX on March 22nd, 2021
Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email care@frontierutilities.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
Worst REP.. stay away
Worst customer service cant even get a response back! Already reported them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bad from Forney, TX on March 10th, 2021
Hello Edgar, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email care@frontierutilities.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
Electricity bill too high.
I work 7:30-5. I dont leave the AC or heater on while at work. Im single with no kids. I live alone and rarely watch tv. My bill last month was $280 plus before the winter storm. This month will be even higher. Something doesnt seem right.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Concerned from Houston, TX on February 23rd, 2021
Hi aberrera01 , our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email care@frontierutilities.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
Mad
Horrible. Horrible. Horrible. Switched to frontier. They failed to do so. My babies and I were without lights
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S Gregory from Houston, TX on January 21st, 2021
Hi S Gregory , our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email care@frontierutilities.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Frontier Utilities
Unstable and wild billing.
I have had Frontier going on my second year. The first year was fine I stayed within the 30 day usage limit 1500 kw and was billed appropriately.

Beginning the second year Frontier began to expand my billing to 35 plus days creating an overage in my usage and throwing me into a much higher rate so not cool.

In addition to the fluctuations in the number of days in the billing period , they change the due date of the bill every month by several days, very hard to know when to pay to avoid late penalty. Frontier also takes more than the authorized amount from you account if you use the online payment but only posts the authorized amount to your electric bill. You have to call and ask why you were charged $20.00 or $30.00 than the amount due and you were only give credit for the amount due.

I will not be resigning with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ed from Galveston, TX on December 13th, 2020
Hi Ed, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
I thought I finally had my problem fixed, ( but)
I signed up for frontier on the 1st ( thinking) I would have a due date of the 1st of the month or later. I called and couldnt get any help. I explained I am retired and I get paid on the 1st and pay all my bills on the 1st. Frontier first said I had to show ( proof) I was on Medicare and get paid once a month. The problem is I DONT get paid from Medicare I get paid from my employer I retired from because Im not old enough to draw Medicare yet. THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ALWAYS SAYS IT TAKES 24-48 HOURS TO CALL YOU BACK ABOUT A PROBLEM. EVERYTIME they call me back it says ( scam call) and they dont leave a message. Someone ( finally) called me in Nov 2020 and said they would change the due date to the 1-3rd every month and take off the late charges . Now its one month later ( December) I made my payment on the 1st like I said I would but I STILL got a notice in the mail of turning off my electric and to pay December late charge! The person I talked to in November said it would take 2 cycle dates to start paying on the 1st and she said she would take care of the late charges until my payment would start on the 1st. Well, it DIDNT happen, I had to call frontier AGAIN and they didnt even have it noted in my account they had even helped me! Now, Ive had to ask a ( supervisor) to call me AGAIN about my problem. Ive NEVER had so many problems with changing a due date to be able to pay on the 1st in my life. ALL IM ASKING IS TO LET ME OAY MY BILL ON THE 1ST WHEN I GET PAID ON THE 1ST. IVE NEVER BEEN LATE ON MY ELECTRIC BILL EVER UNTIL DEALING WITH FRONTIER. WHY ARE THEY MAKING IT SO HARD? PLEASE MAKE SURE IF YOU SIGN UP WITH THEM YOU ASK THEM WHEN WILL YOU BILL BE DUE TO BE PAID. ( I STILL NEED HELP FROM THEM SO THEY DONT CUT MY ELECTRIC OFF TODAY( DEC 10TH) 2020. I PAID ALL OF MY BILL EXCEPT THE LATE CHARGE LIKE SHE TOLD ME TO DO. THANK YOU...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karen S from Arlington, TX on December 10th, 2020
Hi Karen S, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Overcharging
I was looking at my electric bill and it's stating that my due date is Dec. 4, 2020. However, the frontier utilities had changed my due date to Nov. 30, 2020. This is outrageous and it's taking advantage of the customer. I will report to better business bureau for scamming the customer without their consent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle from Houston, TX on December 3rd, 2020
Hi Kyle, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
PAYMENT DUE DATES CHANGE EACH MONTH / CUSTOMER SERVICE A JOKE
Frontier is the first billing institution I know that refuses to give clients a fixed due date. Payment dates change from month to month. I can't help but feel that this is done intentionally to confuse clients so they can charge the $25 disconnection fee. Goodness, the disconnection letter goes out on the due date. And don't even bother calling customer service, you are on hold for 30 to 45 minutes, and when you finally get an agent, they put you on hold to review your account and you get disconnected. Can't wait for the year to be over so I can switch service.
I am telling everybody I know to stay away from Frontier Utilities
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda from Plano, TX on November 10th, 2020
Hi Linda, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities


All Frontier Utilities Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Bill Credit
12 month
Bill Credit
5.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$102 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Bill Credit
12 month
Bill Credit
8.4¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$160 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $112 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $107 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • No Hidden Fees!
  • No minimum usage or monthly base fees.
  • Perfect for townhomes and apartments
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $140 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    16.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $168 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month