Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Green Mountain Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.
5 Stars
6%
 
4 Stars
9%
 
3 Stars
5%
 
2 Stars
8%
 
1 Stars
73%
 

Recent Good Review from Ms Sherry

Thank You Green Mountain
During the winter storm here in Texas I was so nervous that my bill would go through the roof.
I was one of the lucky ones who did not lose power. I'm a senior and was very very concerned that I would experience price gouging. I did not and I can't tell you how proud I am to be a Green Mountain Energy customer because if it. As we know, other electric companies did try to price gouge.....So sad and so wrong during a time of great devestation....
My complete and sincere gratitude and compliments to Green Mountain Energy for their
honesty and obvious care and concern for their valued customers...
Thanks again and job well done
Green Mountain.
I will continue to recommend your services to family,friends and others...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ms Sherry from Mckinney, TX on March 19th, 2021


Our Analysis of Green Mountain Energy

Community Outreach
4.3 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
4.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Complaint Resolution
3.7 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Rewards
3.6 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Plans & Products
3.4 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Market Perception
2.3 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

23 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Thank You Green Mountain
During the winter storm here in Texas I was so nervous that my bill would go through the roof.
I was one of the lucky ones who did not lose power. I'm a senior and was very very concerned that I would experience price gouging. I did not and I can't tell you how proud I am to be a Green Mountain Energy customer because if it. As we know, other electric companies did try to price gouge.....So sad and so wrong during a time of great devestation....
My complete and sincere gratitude and compliments to Green Mountain Energy for their
honesty and obvious care and concern for their valued customers...
Thanks again and job well done
Green Mountain.
I will continue to recommend your services to family,friends and others...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ms Sherry from Mckinney, TX on March 19th, 2021
Very Happy with Green Mountain Energy
I normally never, ever take the time to write reviews but after seeing so many bad ones, I felt compelled to share my experience with Green Mountain Energy. I have been a completely happy customer with them, and their customer service is beyond great. No hidden fees, prices are exactly what we agreed to. I highly recommend this company. Also, during the Texas freeze this year, we NEVER lost power save for the couple hours in the middle of the night due to mandatory rolling blackout.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Spring, TX on March 13th, 2021
Wonderful company
I have had Green Mountain for years no complaints from me. Great service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robin Smith from Fort Worth, TX on October 31st, 2019
Long-Time Customer
I don't understand this rating, my experience with Green Mtn has been fantastic! I have used them for many year & have been very happy. I would highly recomend you give them a try because sometime review are just not correct. Thanks, Rickey Allen
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rickey Allen from Fort Worth, TX on May 17th, 2018
Good service
Good service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2018
The best Texas energy provider. Period.
I've been their customer for the best part of 4 years now.
I have also created a spreadsheet to compare electricity plans and crunched the numbers on dozens of plans.
When you do that, you get a feel for which companies are trying to price gouge and which ones are trying to provide good service affordably.

Green Mountain Energy stands out kindof on its own:
Cheapest plans out there, bar none. My bill in August was $36 for 474 kwh
Fair fixed plans
Easy to use website / billing / charts
Weekly email updates on energy usage
Friendly competent customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dallas Customer from Dallas, TX on October 17th, 2017
Short Experience
I switched to Green Mountain to get a better price on electricity rates; unfortunately, my stay with them was short. My original provider called and gave me a deal for the next 12 months. I may still go back to Green Mountain next year. They have good rates and they use renewable energy which appeals to me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Bucky Barnes from Alamo, TX on September 24th, 2017
Ramzi Baransi
Was very pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ramzi Baransi from Plano, TX on June 21st, 2017
Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected
Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellent Service And A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected from Houston, TX on February 27th, 2017
No Issues at all, very helpful!
I've had Green Mountain for 14 months and I can honestly say, they were great, my bill was never above $20 a month and I ran electricity all day and night. I live in an 1100sqft house and my bill stayed low. There was only 1 outage during the 14 months from tropical storm Bill, and they had it resolved in around 4 hrs. Never had issues speaking with customer service or getting new product info. I like that they do not have automatic contract renewal. After contract expires it moves to month to month unless you renew your contract. After the contract my prices still stayed the same. Thanks for having me Green Mountain!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jordan from Galveston on July 4th, 2016


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

37 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Love Green Mountain Energy
I've been with them for over 5 yrs. no gimmicks. not the cheapest rate but best bargain overall when you have stability of fixed rate and no unexpected fine prints.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Truli from Richardson, TX on February 24th, 2021
Min5
Cost chart was an eye-opener as green mountain energy occupied spots 2,3,4 regarding electricity costs. My bill is about 30% cheaper - NOW, since switching to GME!!! I was motivated when TXU Energy was going to "change" electric rates GIVING ONLY ONE MONTHS Notice. Switching to GME Has proven to be a WISE Decision.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RonCast from League City, TX on July 23rd, 2018
Thank you for your great review! We are here if you need us.
— Green Mountain Energy
Green light for Green Mountain
Ive never needed or contacted customer service. Billing is accurate, payment is automatic, if the price looks good to you then go for it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Big D Bubba from Carrollton, TX on April 30th, 2018
Higher price but you get what you pay for
I never had any problems with this company, I had a 714 sq ft apartment, gaming systems, fridge, washer, dryer and what not - paid about $135 a month during the summer, around $90 during the winter - sign up was easy, customer service was polite etc.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MarieG from Houston, TX on January 11th, 2018
Poor customer service
I've been with Green Mountain for about 5 years, I called customer service about an issue, talked to 3 different reps got told 3 different answers. No one could give me a straightforward answer, customer service support is bad, other than that everything is fine. Hope I will never have to call again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D J from Lancaster, TX on December 29th, 2017
Pleased
We have had Green Mountain Energy for 3 years and have had absolutely no problems. Our electric bill has been the lowest we have every had. I have no reason to want to change and have 3 years of why I would recommend them to others.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MSQuinby from Richmond, TX on December 9th, 2017
Solid choice for Renewable Energy
Green Mountain doesn't have the cheapest plan by far, and not even the cheapest renewable plan, but they do have stability, consistency, and reliability. I've been a customer for several years now (coming up on my third contract renewal) and I'm very wary of switching away from GME even if it means potentially saving $1000 a year on power. Their website is easy to use and intuitive. Averaged billing great.

The ONLY negative I ever experienced was when I was not paying attention and missed the contract renewal. Once you switch to "month by month" expect to be paying almost DOUBLE the rate. To be fair, they did send me ONE letter about this, and from what I'm reading many companies are much worse about not nudging the customer to renew a contract so the company can reap those sweet, sweet month-to-month rates. So stay on top of that contract renewal!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David C. from Humble, TX on November 22nd, 2017
Great for smaller households
Green mountain was one of the only/few companies offering lower rates for using less than 1000 kwh. Our last bill, when we weren't using heat or ac was $45.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joan from Fort Worth on May 19th, 2016
Honest clean electricity
After two years of service I'm very happy with this company. They stick to only wind and solar energy and deep their rates very stable. Compared with other supply companies I've used I find the customer service easy to reach and very friendly. I've never had a problem with my bill or my power.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian Livingston from Houston on January 21st, 2016
Great Energy Provider
My personal experience with this energy provider has been in fact very good over the last several month since switched from Reliant Energy. The switch reduced our monthly energy bill to half, while giving us an impression of helping the environment and saving the world a bit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hunter Wang from Houston on April 14th, 2015


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

21 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
DISCONNECTED SERVICE, THEIR MISTAKE!!
I called the morning of Jun. 1,2020 to ask the why my electricity is disconnected. I clearly called them on 2 occasions to cancel my disconnection notice since I had not yet moved into my house. They told me after I waited over an hour being transferred, that they will connect me in 1 or 2 hours top. It is not 5:15 p.m I have NO ELECTRICITY & they are not answering. I am so humiliated after paying them $218.00 balance that was suppose to be made in payments & they still haven't taken the time to connect my service. It is outrageous. I have been a loyal customer for over 5 or 6 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

COLD HEARTED COMPANY from Mcallen, TX on June 1st, 2020
Happy til the end
The price we received with our initial contract was outstanding. No issues during the life of the contract. However, a letter comes and tells us of a 40% increase in price. Therefore, we switched to another provider. And as a parting gift they hit us with a $200 contract cancellation fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BGWatson from Fort Worth, TX on April 11th, 2018
Billing Department is Horrendous and no means to contact corporate Hq to discuss
We have been with Green Mountain under their solar panel program for a year. We get an incorrect bill and I call. Customer service says it will be 21 days to correct. I ask for a supervisor who checks, expedites and gets corrected in 5 days. That bill gets corrected but the next bill has a different problem. We've had more months will a billing problem than months without.

The worst is that they provide no contact information for corporate. Corporate needs to review billing issues and revise procedures.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kate from Arlington, TX on November 28th, 2017
Ok
I have Green Mountain Energy now. Everything was going well until I tried paying my bill online at my 4th month. Card Declined. Okay, I payed again called great mountain. Called bank to confirm my info was right. It was. And I charged my bank account three times. And I did the math it didn't add up. I paid on time so no charges should be extra. And I'm really disappointed...I sent green mountain my bill , and bank statements and I haven't heard back from them. I doubt they really care. I'm sure they will enjoy my extra money.. Going to be switching soon.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed from Houston, TX on March 1st, 2017
Billing Debocal
In December I transferred apartments and did not receive a bill. After not Receving a bill f or almost two months I went online and paid the bill. I also signed up for ebill. After signing up I clicked on the screen for my account information I discovered that they changed my service address and nit my mailing address. In April I was sitting in my room and the lights go out. I discovered that they were cut off due to non payment. This happened without receiving a paper bill, ebill or disconnect notice. Disconnection notices are required under the law. I did not contact Green Mountain and I should have. I just took care of the bill. Well about a month later I get a call while at work from my disabled father who resides with me that the lights are off again. I paid the bill. I did go online and sent an e-mail via there customer service. A couple of hours later I did receive a response. They said it did not show I was signed up for ebill and fixed it were I will receive ebills and paper bills. They also waived the fees associated with the disconnection. I will be contacting them to see if they are going to waive the one from April.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terri Williams from Dallas on June 4th, 2014
Prices floating up why?
Well, a guy in the grocery was all over me, and I needed to find a lower price. His GM met that. He said to watch out the non-fixed price would drift up. He was right, but it seems they're also changing how they do it---it's certainly not an apparent function of actual usage. It's my 4th month, price up several cents/kWh; and I've got to get out!! Whoever paid the Legislators for deregulation is evil (the industry?) and so is the Legislature. Citizens no longer have "representation" OR redress of grievance. And look how the PUC allowed Smart Meters and won't have real hearings to reverse it?!?!! ARE THERE NO HONEST MEN LEFT IN GOV????
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jo from Harris County on January 23rd, 2014
Prior customer for 5 years
I recently changed energy providers, but I was mostly satisfied with GME during those years. It was great to see how they have expanded to more states and how much their website improved. I was always very appreciative that there was a "green" energy provider in Tx. I didn't mind paying a little more pkw. I enjoyed their convenient bill pay, no hidden fees, friendly customer service reps, and the overall experience. I finally switched because I was able to find a more competitive rate but sad to say they are not "green." If things don't work out with this provider I will probably return to GME. Thank you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eli from Dallas on January 21st, 2014
Hi Eli! We're glad to hear that you had such a great experience with Green Mountain Energy. Give us a call or go online when your current contract is up and we'll help you find a renewable plan that works best for you. We're looking forward to having you back in the Green Mountain community real soon!
— Green Mountain Energy
IT"S NOT ABOUT PRICE!
I've been with green mountain for two years and I just want to respond to the negative feedback here. When you're shopping for electricity you will always get what you pay for. Dirt cheap electricity always has fees that punish you for trying to conserve energy. Green Mountain isn't the cheapest, but their whole initiative and their intention as a business is the reason why i pay at fair market price. The iphone for example,is a product that has value beyond the price. It's not just you're average joe polluted coal/nuclear electricity. Its clean energy and it feels good to be a part of the growing demand for it, which will bring the price DOWN if enough of us started caring about the earth.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jamal from Dallas on September 10th, 2013
Jamal, thanks for your post. We appreciate you joining us on our mission to change the way power is made.
— Green Mountain Energy
They're alright
Green Mountain has been my provider for the past five years. The only thing I don't really like is the amount you pay - at first it was fine, and now I'm looking to change. It's great if you're "green" and they provide information about how much emissions you've saved and how many trees to the equivalent you've "virtually" planted but I need less per watt hour. I'm going to move on. Good luck - they're not bad but I could do better.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lori from Burleson on August 18th, 2013
Hi Lori, we would certainly regret losing you as a customer. Please call us at 866-785-4668 to learn about our alternative rate plan options.
— Green Mountain Energy
After 7 years, time for a change
Been using since 2006. Introductory rate brought my bill down considerably, but after about three years I noticed on average my rate had crept up to about $0.18 / kWH. When I called at renewal time, I was able to request and receive a much lower rate that is typically offered to new customers only, so I have stayed with them for another 3 years, going thru the same "call and request procedure" every 6 months. Now it's renewal time again and I was told that I could no longer receive the lower rate, so I am planning on switching. For a company with a simple philosophy and only 100% renewable plans, I wish they could keep things even simpler by offering their lowest possible rate to returning customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tree Hugger from Friendswood on May 5th, 2013


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

31 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Beware new scheme from the company (probably others)
When my last contract ended, they did not send any notice of my rates going up. This time, they sent me a notice to renew by a date last month. So, I chose to renew with another company this month, but they are informing me of a $200 fine for renewing a few months early. I was a complacent customer for 20 years, but never again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marc S. from Dallas, TX on January 15th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1831 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Last bill
Did not issue credit for solar on last bill and charged a disconnect fee. I disputed the last bill and still no word from billing department
Lousy service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ross from Corpus Christi, TX on July 19th, 2020
We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1829 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.
— Green Mountain Energy
Non-Flexibility w/Payments
First higher rates than some, but I was ok with that due to the environmental considerations. What I'm not ok with is I am a single mom, single income and there is no flexibility with this company when it comes to payment arrangement, if there is some kind issue arises.. especially if you typically stay caught up. They, however, will cut service as soon as the next bill generates with zero warning or communication. Most electric companies that I've used forever in my 30 plus years will allow you to get it paid before your next one is due... not these guys at all.. no notice, nothing indicating that you will be disconnected at all if you are on paperless billing.. no mention in the weekly emails they send, no mention when I logged in to see what my due dates. AND furthermore customer services is of zero help, I had a perfect storm of personal financial crisis happen in the last two months and was left a bit short (large vet bill with an animal that was internally bleeding and several hundred $ car repair)... I can easily pay the bill before the next due date, but they say they have no wiggle room or ability to turn my service on. We all know that is not true.. there is always a way.. they have set a protocal that cleary indicates to their customers that they don't care at all. So right now my services is off, I have no family to call for assistance.. sad part is I can pay my bill and the current portion a week from tomorrow... and be all caught up.. so for now, good riddance... I will pay my next bill and will move on to another company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lisa from North Richland Hills, TX on March 4th, 2020
Thank you for leaving a review, Lisa. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We'd like to help look into options. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1814 and additional information for more information.
— Green Mountain Energy
DONT USE GREEM MOUNTAIN
They may offer competitive prices and plans at first but they always find ways to charge up your bill during your time as a customer. I lived in a one bedroom apt and it cost more using Green Energy to cool and power electronics there than it does in my 4 bedroom two story house. They also have poor customer service and do not process closure claims properly. I closed my account in may and I'm still being billed because they waited a month to close it. This is the SECOND time they have done this to me. 10/10 WOULD NOT RECCOMEND this company, go for TriEagle!! They are great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Colleen from Houston, TX on June 25th, 2019
Hi Colleen. We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1802 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Green Mountain Energy
Easy to sign up, but difficult to get them to honor specials
I signed up with Green Mountain under a deal when they promised a $100 gift card. I never received my gift card. I then moved to an apartment where utilitied were included, so I did not have to order electricity service, and had a past due balance with Green Mountain. My intent was to use the gift card to take care of my past due balance, but I still never got it. After that lease was up, I moved back to another apartment where I had to get electric service and I went back to Green Mountain. They still tried to charge me for the past due balance and still would not send me my gift card. Customer should not have to jump through hoops just to get what they are entitled to. For this reason I would not recommend Green Mountain.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marcus H from Irving, TX on April 28th, 2018
Very Expensive
I have used Green mountain energy services on recommendation from my Apartment leasing for about 2 years. i thought initially its a good plan with cheaper rates but it got a hell lot of expensive i last 1 year and i paid almost thrice the amount i used to pay. i have no regrets on the services but they became really expensive now with other cheaper electricity plans available in the market. SO i would recommend to do search on other plans available in your area.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Irving, TX on April 13th, 2018
Had to change services
I had great service until I tried to move. I did the online progress to change my address and double checked that it was right. I moved and almost to months later found out that I had been paying for my last apartment because my account was never moved. I called and they did not try to help me but told me it was my fault for not calling them and trusting the online feature, but that my account was canceled. A month later I get an email of late payment because they failed to mention that my account was not really closed and that I still had a balance on my account that at the moment did not show online.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Make Sure You Get Confirmation Emails For Everythi from Round Rock on September 30th, 2016
GM does not want to give deposits back
HORRILE experience! In APRIL my husband and I moved to Dallas from out of state. Our apartment complex required us to have electric set up at least 24 hours in advance of moving in. We called Green Mountain and ordered electric service. GM required $150 deposit up front. Since we were renting two apartments, that was an inconvenience, but we paid via credit card several days ahead of schedule. As we are loading boxes into our rental truck the day before driving to Dallas, I get a call from our new apartment complex letting me know electric was not initiated yet and that I needed to call GM and inquire or we would not be able to move in. When I called GM I was on the phone for two hours and I was transferred to at least 10 people. I had to explain my situation as many times. Customer service could see that we were denied service but did not know why and they kept passing me along to someone who might be able to tell me. Finally, it was discovered that GM will not accept my husbands drivers license because it is out of state. The only other option is a social security card, and could we please fax it? No, we could not fax it; it was buried in a box somewhere! The next morning we called a different company and had no problem getting service (we did not even have to pay a deposit). A few days after we got settled in to the apartment I called GM to get our deposits back. Again, customer service we less than helpful. They had the WRONG DATE listed for initiation of service on one apartment we created an even more confusing issue. They said we would receive a check in a week.HUH!!! I had to call back six times to get our check, which finally came 6 weeks later in late JUNE. It is AUGUST now and I am STILL having difficulty getting the other $150 back from them. Not only did GM take our $300 but they did not even notify us that there was an issue with the drivers license. And getting our deposit back is turning into a nightmare! GRRR!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rheana from Rheana on August 10th, 2016
Don't use this company EVER!
They like to bill themselves as customer friendly and ecologically sound. That's why I went with them two years ago. Then I got deployed, requested a 'shut off' date and was told they would do it. Now six weeks later I've gotten two bills for service I didn't want and they deny even being contacted. They are no better than every other utility company, just after more and more money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William Hadley from Formerly Round Rock on June 30th, 2016
Customer service - non existent
I have been a green mountain customer for over 4 years. What is the point in having a customer service department if nobody answers the phone or the email. I have sent numerous emails over the past year complaining about their payment system on the Web that looses payments. I even get an email confirming payment. Then several days later I receive a threatening email to pay or disconnect. So then I receive a bill with late charges and disconnection fees. I have attempted to call but I work long days and don't have time to wait more than an hour on hold. I have even tried first thing in the morning, but after 40 minutes I have to hang up because I have s job, just like their employees do. I have tried emailing, but nobody takes the time to respond. All I ever receive is an automated reply that they will respond within 48 hours. Well that's a joke because one year later they still have not responded. So I suck it up, pay the bill again and the late fees because the alternative is they will disconnect. This company is a joke and nothing more than a scam to get more money by simply ignoring you. I even sent them a snail mail letter about six months ago, no response. How does one dispute charges if you cannot reach anyone. Getting service was easy. They answer their phones. When I tried that ti get to someone, I was put on hold saying I had the wrong department. I waited over an hour listening to garbage. I will not renew when this contract is up in July.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl Austin from League City on June 16th, 2016


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

297 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The worst provider I have ever dealt with
During my 11-month usage plan, I was over-charged for 3 months and double charged for 1 month. The investigation took 3 months and during which I have to make multiple phone calls to get my money back (still in process). Waste of time and money. Regretted that I have recommended the service to my friends. Should never do that!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JC from Dallas, TX on April 20th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1842 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
The Average Billing Service is a Scam
I am super annoyed and disappointed with Green Mountain level of service. I switched over from TXU and for the first year my billing was great and managed to reduce my billing to an average of $60 per month. After renewal they sent me information on average billing I called in to pay a bill and requested information about average and was advised that it should help me lower my bill and prevent my bill from going up and keep my bill at about the same amount each month. So that sounded good and I advised the rep to go ahead and sign me up for it. But lo and behold since activating the average billing my bill as tripled. I have been calling in each month and was Informed since were in the winter mu usage had gone up but I have had them for over a year meaning I been through a winter with then and my bill was never that high before. I finally said okay can remove this average billing because it seems to have impacted my billing. Only to be told that would mean I would have over $340 owing that would have to pay on my next bill. So this led to further discovering that this average billing actually creates a debit amount each month that they add to future payments which ultimately increases your bill. So not only has my billing tripled but I now have money owing because of this average billing and I have never missed a payment and I always pay my bill on time.
I asked for a channel to address my concerns. I was sent to a supervisor and explained that what they aware doing was wrong and this has a negative impact on peoples livelihood.I was basically told that there is nothing they can do to help except provide a payment plan for the money that had accrued I asked for a resource to raise my concerns and I was given a P O Box Number for Houston. O top of this they now want to to incur additional expenses to get a letter to them to let them know they should be providing customers with fil and adequate information before offering a service that actually increases costs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kurangwa from Plano, TX on March 25th, 2021
Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1841 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Stay Away
Over charge for everything and sneak in extra fees all over. Very bad business and I regret using them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dissatisfied from Bridgeview, IL on February 12th, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1836 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
I wish I had read other reviews first
I selected Green Mountain because they used wind mills, I am not sure now because they are not truthful , I paid my bills on time for a year. Last month they disconnected me for being a few days late. Everything in refrigerator went bad. The rate they gave me was much higher than what I was told.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Louis from Galveston, TX on February 7th, 2021
Hi Louis. We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1839 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.
— Green Mountain Energy
You lost a loyal one
I've been a loyal customer for 9 years now (eye roll), but now searching for new electricity companies. You would think with the whole pandemic they would be more understanding. NOPE. I haven't been able to catch up due to the pandemic and to add these ridiculously high bills. They refuse to help me!!! Horrible, horrible, horrible customer service and the superiors are just as bad. Very disappointed in this company overall. Taking my business elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Monique A from Mcallen, TX on January 22nd, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1832 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!The Worst Electric Company Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They are dishonest and are liars!!!!! They did not inform me that a contract was involved and that it is a $150.00 fee for early cancellation. The service is equivalent to a pre-paid service. They said my lights were disconnected, and they were not. I was billed $35.00 + $20.00 for a disconnect and reconnect fee when my lights were never off. They refused to waive the bill. I have left them and am now with TXU Energy. The customer service is the worst. Use another electric company!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PD from Houston, TX on January 20th, 2021
Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1833 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Must read!
First of all I would like to say, I dont believe 1 positive review on this company! Maybe Green Mountain Energy picks and choose who they are going to steal from? 3 months ago I questioned my 1 month bill for $700 and was told its because my contract ended. So the next month it was at $480, now the following month it is at $614! Now Im questioning this and Im told Im behind on my payments! There is a special place in Hell for people like this, specially during times like this and on the holidays. Stay far away from this place! Im convinced they must have paid people to put up positive reviews! All lies!!!!!! I have bank statements to prove it! Thinking about talking to my attorney!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Of Customer! from Round Rock, TX on December 4th, 2020
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1832 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
CSR's lie in recorded line and management backs them up!
Was blatantly lied to about new contract. After listening to recording with alleged manager he tried to double down and offer a six year contract. A second alleged manager has called back twice and and left a wrong contact number to teach her. What type of company uses this type of business plan? Better question who's holding them accountable? Obviously no one!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KShane from Houston, TX on September 28th, 2020
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1827 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Screwed from the beginning
Every year over the course of the year my bill goes up. August it was up to $550.?? with just me and wife. Customer service keeps saying (I've called then at least 5 times over a year to year and half) keep telling me "well it's been hotter than past, your usage is going up.... A great big "B-S"..... It's not been hotter this year than past....they are .... Well never mind... Can't say it I'll probably get called in on a definition law suit.....plain and simple, when my contract is up I'm switching to someone else that's not going to do me like a breech loaded shotgun.... Enough said
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Londagin from Paris, TX on September 15th, 2020
Hi Rick. We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1828 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Green Mountain Energy
Horrible
Worst ever. Ridiculously high priced and rude customer ssrvice!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

HORRIBLE! from Dallas, TX on August 25th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to speak with you and see if we can help. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your service address, REF #1826 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy


All Green Mountain Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
12.0¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$120 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 100% clean, renewable energy
  • Requires Tree Free billing and Auto Pay
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month