Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Hello Energy are the order experience, rated at 4.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 3.5 of 5.
5 Stars
39%
 
4 Stars
21%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
7%
 
1 Stars
29%
 

Recent Good Review from KD

Very Pleased!
We had a severe winter storm come through yesterday and everyone power was out that I know however mines was on. I was very pleased.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KD from Richmond, TX on February 15th, 2021


Our Analysis of Hello Energy

Innovation
4.2 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
3.8 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Complaint Resolution
2.3 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.2 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Community Outreach
1.5 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Rewards
1.1 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Gary Garcilazo
Very happy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary Garcilazo from Killeen, TX on April 19th, 2020
Aweaome
I love how I finally got good service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dayana from Fort Worth, TX on March 27th, 2020
Great service
I was struggling trying to fine good electricity. Hello energy was the on e great service love their great deals and love their service. I'm happy with my prepaid service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Awesome Electricity from Fort Worth, TX on March 7th, 2020
Great company
I really enjoyed service with them great customer service cheap bill they also sent me check in mail with money i didn't use
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tamika Bailey from Houston, TX on December 13th, 2019
I am in control of what I pay
I made the switch from Green Mountain Energy to Hello Energy and it has been a great experience!! I use the pre paid option. It is so much cheaper and I am in control of what I pay. I am able to manage my usage and I get daily notifications. Each pay day, I add money to my account and I never have to worry about an upcoming due date, or late fees when I happen to pay past a due date.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jade Rey from Friendswood, TX on August 29th, 2019
Excelente
Been a costumer for a while so far is been great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Efran Gomez from Houston, TX on May 3rd, 2019
Great Service
Im writing to express my gratitude to Hello Energy , I understand that with prepaid service you must always have a credit on the account however last week I had no budgeted well and my service was to be disconnected , I spoke with a you lady who helped me out by explaining we could set up a quick payment arrangement in order for me to catch up , I have never had a prepaid company do this. I have paid my arrangement and continue to be a faithful customer. Awesome customer service since day 1 however my interaction last week made me take time to provide a review. If management reads this keep the great work great policies and awesome agents
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Customer Service. from Houston, TX on October 29th, 2018
Love it
I really do like this electricity company great having free nights but I really don't like the fact about the $10 thing where when you go a few cents or $0. 50 or whatever over they will cut you off that's my $10 that I paid understand if it goes below the 10 but sometimes the struggle is real
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brittany Voss from Troup, TX on October 9th, 2018
Good
This was a temp electric to repair my deceased moms home to get ready to sell it was fast on and as soon as i requested off it went off . Thank you
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paula from Sulphur Springs, TX on October 1st, 2018
Works for me...pleasantly surprised!!
I recently moved and needed quick electricity without a huge deposit. I found Hello Energy online and decided to given them a try. Everything with them has been super easy! I enrolled online and made an initial deposit to get my service going and have been with them for about 2 months now. Honestly, I prefer this to my old standard electricity.... I get an email every day letting me know my balance and this makes budgeting a no-brainer! Once or twice a month I add money to my account to keep it healthy so I don't have to worry about it getting low. For me, this met my needs and has been perfect so far! I love knowing what my balance is all the time, so it really helps me to budget my monthly expenses. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who needs new service but does not want to pay a big deposit up front or anyone who is watching their budget closely. There's no contract, so it's worth a try...you might be pleasantly surprised like me!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SAM from Mckinney, TX on January 10th, 2018


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Very Pleased!
We had a severe winter storm come through yesterday and everyone power was out that I know however mines was on. I was very pleased.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KD from Richmond, TX on February 15th, 2021
I love hello energy
I've used hello energy in an apartment and then in my house when I moved. Absolutely love them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelsey from Waco, TX on January 15th, 2020
Hello lower energy bills
We've used another prepaid service , TXU as well as Reliant .
TXU and Reliant both ran double if not more than I'm paying with HELLO .
Thank you for the great service .
My only complaint would be the 10.00 threshold that is our money ,yet doesn't show in our funds .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nacho from Arlington, TX on October 23rd, 2019
Great electric company
Signing up was super easy. I love knowing how much electricity I am using daily. I also love that I add money to the account instead of a surprise bill each month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jenn from Tomball, TX on August 17th, 2019
Good company
Good company, customer service is really good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Liz from Crowley, TX on September 10th, 2018
So far I like !
I've had their service for about 2 months now and I can't complain. It is easily managed and you are notified daily about account balances and updates. I've dealt with customer service once and they were quick and answered all my questions and provided tips.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Indya from Dallas, TX on October 10th, 2017



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good company watch your bill though
Just keep an eye on their rates and the rates from power to choose because they don't match up and they'll try to tell you that it takes a couple days to update just call them and tell them that they're wrong
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Uwishunu from Waco, TX on June 15th, 2018



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
My service
Way too expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S.l.g. from Caddo Mills, TX on June 5th, 2018
Hidden Fees
I was extremely excited about using hello energy because they didn't require a deposit. I was nervous about prepay, however they send you a daily email about your balance. I became disappointed because I began to notice that my balance didn't seem to add up to what they said they were taking out. At first it was a small amount like a penny here and a penny there. Then my bill would be 2.50 less than the amount they 'supposedly' took out and another day it was 1.00 less. After a few weeks of communication through phone and email I finally received a response stating it was taxes. I felt that if they were taxes then that should be incorporated and reflected, but it isn't anywhere. They do not give you a 'bill' of any sort, nor can you print one out to verify that the 'extra' money indeed goes to taxes. There has even been occasion where my bill would say 12.00 remaining and then the next it would say 12.50 remaining and the day after that it would say 6.79 remaining. There have even been times where no one was home yet they would claim we use $10.00 worth of energy in one day. I needed to switch providers with better practices that are easier to understand and verify.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kynard from Round Rock, TX on January 22nd, 2018



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Please don't get hello energy
They lie and say you've used whatever amount of energy they want to. They did me like that when I spent days at my boyfriend's house, on several occasions. I can prove it and am submitting this proof to FTC!! They price goudge also ,They will nickel and dime you. They're doing a family member the same way. I've gotten at least 3 customers to file complaints with FTC,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

E.Love Lancaster Tx from Lancaster, TX on February 13th, 2021
This is a rip-off
I put money in this account every day almost I got an email stating I had 10 days left the next morning I wake up it stated I had two days left I had used over 192 KW in one day which I know was a lie I turn around and put more money on and I wake up today now it says I have one day left I signed up for the free weekends but I know they're taking the money out before the weekend that's where they rip you off I will never use this company again all recommended to anyone
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Naomi from Huntington, TX on December 21st, 2019
DO NOT GET HELLO ENERGY
I repeat DO NOT GET HELLO ENERGY!! They will scam you out of so much money! I signed up for the free nights plan at 12.5 per kw. Well all of a sudden I started realizing I was paying ALOT more for my electric and when I contacted them they told me I was paying 19 cents per kw because the plan can change at any time! No notification no offer to fix it. Just sorry it is what it is. Ive never heard of any electric companies charging .19 per kw that is a ridiculous amount! Do not get hello energy its a terrible company with terrible customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jackie from Copperas Cove, TX on October 9th, 2019
HORRIBLE Experience
They do NOT give you honest quotes, even when over the phone! I called and spoke to a sales person and even asked, What are the hidden fees, the fine print, all of that!! I want no surprises! He reassured me there was no fine print! I was told I would pay 9.4C per KWH. I even asked if this was IT, were any other fees added to this! He reassured me, NO. Yall, my bill was just now $445!! I have NEVER, EVER paid more than $280 on my bill, EVER! Im in shock! Called and spoke to someone else who then told me that their quote didnt include the TNP fee. Im paying $13.5C per KWH.
They said I had past the 3 day window to get out of the contract, basically too bad! I will be paying the $150 cancellation fee tomorrow and will never use this company again. Im SO disappointed!!
I emailed the company with NO response!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charity from League City, TX on September 15th, 2019
Good rates, bad billing and customer service
I instituted a payment through my banks online bill pay website. The check was mailed and several days later it had not arrived. I called customer service after receiving a cancellation notice in the mail to find out what was going on, at that time realizing the payment had not been received. The customer service rep noted that the payment had been made and the cancellation was put on hold and recommended that I call back on Friday, several days later to see if check arrived. I called as instructed and the check had not made it, so to avoid electricity being cut off I made the payment over the phone and instructed the customer service rep that the check I had my bank send was going to be canceled. She understood but obviously did not make note. Jump to the next month's bill, the check had arrived, they deposited it and obviously it had bounced because it had been canceled. When I called to make the current months payment, they tried to charge me $25.00 for the bounced check. I told them I was not going to pay it because the check was mailed way prior to the due date and when it finally hit their system, after the payment had been made by card over the phone, they still applied it to the account after being informed the check was going to be canceled. I requested to speak with a manager, he/she was not available and I had to leave a call back number for him/her to call back. Very happy with the rates but billing, customer service and their customer website are not very good! Would not recommend this company after only being with them for two months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dissatisfied from Fulton, TX on August 2nd, 2019
Account Servive
I switched over to you guys for on of my weekend properties in which I am never there, I paid a deposit ti get the power turned on then never made it out there, You guys blow up my email telling me I have a 10 balance ant that you are going to discontinue service. so I give you guys $60 on my account just for you all to send me more god damned emails telling me that my balance is still at $60 dollars and I am nearing my limit and that I will be disconnected tomorrow. Well there are no lights on out there and I have no usage so how are you going to tell me every day almost that my balance is still 60 dollars and that you are going to cut me off the following day,,, iTS REtardedl,, I thk it is I that will discontinue your service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thomas Hogan from Huffman, TX on November 30th, 2018
Not Satisfied
My experience with HELLO ENERGY SUCKED !
I looked into this electricity plan as being one tha best fit for me at the time of moving into my apartment . But I was definitely wrong ! I set up my account and serivices upon my move in date which was in August of this year and my electricity was set up . I then called weeks prior to me having the service which was a pre-paid service . I knew that I should've been receiving a bill . Meanwhile , not really understanding how prepaid lights even worked. I called Hello Energy and the customer service rep told me that I didn't have service when I called she stated that she could see where I had the service but it was discontinued due to Varification on my address basically saying that my address was wrong . That left me with about $200 in payment for electricity through my personal apartment considering that I had VACANT ELECTRICITY ! Keep in mind I was under the impression that Hello Energy would've sent a bill or at least called to confirm me that they were having address Varification problems otherwise I wouldn't have had to pay my apartment for vacant electricity. They waved the extra $100 fee for me luckily but I still had to pay a total of $185 all because " Hello Energy " was apartme to unprofessional to update me on information or even having a since of knowledge as to what I needed to do to avoid having this problem .
So would I refer Hello Energy to anybody " NO " it's considered bootleg electricity service and highly unprofessional I'd rather pay for my deposit than have prepaid unguarenteed services .
I decided to let the situation go last month and not to contact " Hello Energy "
but since I graciously received a survey message in my inbox I figured it wouldn't hurt to respond .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I.Evans from Houston, TX on October 22nd, 2018
Sketchy service
I needed to add money to my account so I call the phone #provided and my call can't be completed as dialed I used the same number as always as stored in my contacts even double checked online.after many frustrating attempts with same results I tried to pay online and got a response of my email didn't match customer well its the same email I've been receiving notifications from them on.forced to give up.next day working again I spoke to someone from customer service and they were dodgy about it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Travis Snyder from Magnolia, TX on April 3rd, 2018



All Hello Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Pre-paid
1 month
Pre-paid
20.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$40 min balance