Reviews Overview
The best review categories for OUR Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.8 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.4 of 5.
5 Stars
18%
 
4 Stars
10%
 
3 Stars
1%
 
2 Stars
15%
 
1 Stars
56%
 

Recent Good Review from Timothy

Great customer service
Customer service. Customer service agent Saad was extremely helpful with a bill issue. Great service. Good rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Timothy from Sugar Land, TX on July 15th, 2020


Our Analysis of OUR Energy

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great customer service
Customer service. Customer service agent Saad was extremely helpful with a bill issue. Great service. Good rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Timothy from Sugar Land, TX on July 15th, 2020
Excellent Service
Our Energy is one of the best electricity company in Texas. They have the best customer service and friendly staff. I recommended so many people and everyone is really happy with their rates and services.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Saad Naeem from Houston, TX on June 18th, 2020
Low Fixed Rates make me stay with the company
Signed up with Our Energy few years back. They always offer the best rates in the market for renewal so I stay with them. My personnel experience of customer service has been good. I have read some reviews about the payments issue but I use ACH and never had an issue. I don't usually use bank-pay therefore I can't really comment on the issues mentioned in the comments. I will give them 5 star because I never had any problem with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Longtime User from Houston, TX on October 17th, 2019
Happy Customer
I have been a long time customer of this company. They have been working with me whenever I needed any assistance. No issues so far. They put me on budget billing which allows me to not worry about high bills during summer time. Would recommend others to signup for this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Waqar Faiz from Spring, TX on October 14th, 2019
My OUR Energy Plan
I really like this company. I have had my new plan for 3 months now on a 12 month plan, Website is very friendly, bills are laid out nice, had no problems at all signing up for the plan initially. Not sure what the other folks are doing to experience bad service, but my experience with OUR energy has been very positive, I give them 5 stars.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My OUR Energy Plan from Arlington, TX on October 18th, 2018
Wonderful Energy Provider
Our residential electricity contract is expiring August 8th 2018 and I have been shopping for rates and a good Company. A neighbor recommended Our Energy and I phoned them. Marisol was the Customer Service Representative who assisted my inquiry. She is EXCELLENT..... efficient knowledgeable, professional and treated me like family. She found an offer that was exactly what I was searching for almost immediately with the best rate offered from the 8 companies I called. I will recommend Marisol and Our Energy to EVERYONE of my relatives and friends. Try them..... they really are the BEST!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michelle Siwierka from Sugar Land, TX on July 11th, 2018
Good Rates and Service
I signed up with Our Energy about a year ago. I chose them because they offered me a simple price. I was confused with so many tricky rates other companies had to offer but I am glad I chose Our Energy. I only had to call the customer service couple of time and experience was not bad. I recommended Our Energy to my friends and I think some of them signed up as well. So far so good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cynthia Gonzalez from Houston on November 20th, 2016
I would highly recommend this company to anyone.
I have had to contact the customer due to some billing questions. I got straight through to the customer service department and spoke with a member of staff who was so helpful and dealt with my query straight away.I would highly recommend this company to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jayeeda Sarfraz from Spring on August 19th, 2015
Great so far
I live in a two bedroom town home apartment. Two bedrooms upstairs, kitchen, dining area, and living room downstairs. I've had Our Energy for 3 months so far and they've been great. However, I do manage and pay my account online. I'm an online person, so I actively check my email and look for the bill. I normally receive my bill by email at least 18 days before the due date. I also pay online, which is huge for me.

We are really good about turning off the AC during the day, turning lights off etc. We normally use between 500-600 KW so far. I'm sure the usage will increase as it gets hotter. So far, the bills we've seen have been $44, $65, and $53. Average price per KW that we pay is 8.5cents. After paying 13 cents with TXU we've been able to save some money.

I really did my research and read reviews to help me make my decision, so I decided I should do the same. So far I've been very pleased with Our Energy and definitely recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelly from Fort Worth on April 17th, 2015
Great
I just renewed my contract with Our Energy. They have had the best rates for me and don't charge a minimum base charge, which is great. When it came time to renew my contract, I got a special renewal rate which shows that they value their customers business. I was able to do the renewal online with ease and have never had any problems will billing. I would recommend them to others.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Reena from Richmond on March 6th, 2015


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Open Honest and Upfront
I've had a great experience with Our Energy the customer service team is extremely helpful, I had some confusion with my new bill when I moved to my new place the representative took the time to address my issues and explained every item in detail. I've been with them for almost 4 years and have seen that they have offer great rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Waqar from Sugar Land, TX on June 18th, 2020
Supper
Love my plan
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Roberto Smith from Spring, TX on July 6th, 2018
Satisfied After One Year, I Am Renewing Again
I changed to Our Energy last year after being with Gexa for 10 years. I got tired of Gexa giving all the good deals to new customers and taking advantage of existing customers with higher rates every year. I am good at analyzing plans and understanding all the charges involved. I picked a plan that gave me a credit for usage over 999 kWh/month and by the end of my contract I had saved about $800 over the year. This time I am picking a Fixall Green 12 plan with a fixed kWH rate and no other fees. What I liked most is all their plans are the same rates, whether you are a new or existing customer. Plus they were the lowest rate after I checked several dozen plans. As for all these complaints involving people not getting their checks credited on time, I can't comment. I pay online using a credit card and have never had a late charge. The time to pay, from the time I get the bill, is indeed the shortest I have on any of my utilities, but I just stay on top of things by checking the website when it is the time of the month for the bill. When I first switched, I had to call a few times to make sure I got my first bill, but I do not find that to be unusual. I would recommend Our Energy for good service and following their contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AK Noorian from Tomball on September 28th, 2016
Excellent Rates No Hidden Fees
I'm on my 2nd year with OUR Energy. Initially had some problems with customer service and had to send my previous company info twice in order to avoid giving a deposit. Because they claimed they hadn't received I kept getting a bill for the deposit but when I talked with customer service which was hard to reach back in the spring of 2014, she told me just to ignore that part of the bill and resend the info. That worked fine. I believe they initially were overwhelmed in customer service and got better. I autopay my bills which are extremely reasonable so I haven't used customer since then except to renew my contract which also had a great rate. I highly recommend them for small electricity users like me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Al;exis Y from Dallas on September 29th, 2015
Good rates. No monthly fee.
They are one of the very few companies who offer a product without a monthly fee. I am a happy customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mathew Thompson from Dallas on June 26th, 2014
Fair People
They saved me a lot of money no gimmick fees with the bill easy to understand they did what they said.

Sam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from on January 17th, 2012
Great service
Saved me a lot of money
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sara Smith from Houston on February 12th, 2011



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Hidden Fee
Lowest price per kWh I found at the time. With a smart meter changing service was a breeze. Never had a billing issue but they do have a $10 service fee monthly that counters the low rates in my opinion. If you factor that in and they are still lowest go for it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Zach from Friendswood, TX on February 18th, 2017



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Crooked billing
The power service is fine. The billing is horrible. I literally live 4 miles from their office. I mail the payment 7-10 days in advance of the due date. Almost every month, I get a late notice & penalty fee because the payment was received 1-2 late. All my other mailed bills can arrive anywhere in the US within a couple of days. My opinion is they use this tactic to make up for their cheaper electrical rates. I would never use them again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Butlmars from Spring, TX on April 2nd, 2021
Horrible billing processing
Our Energy is very bad at processing payments if you use anything other than their own system. Personally, I use bill pay through my bank. I always schedule payments within a week of due date but on multiple occasions it has taken Our Energy 5-10 days after the scheduled bill pay delivery date to actually process it which ends up after the due date and then they immediately send out their pink non-payment disconnection notice letters. Not only is it a waste but it's totally erroneous since as a customer I did what I'm supposed to. They are the ones slow to process payments. When my contract is up I will look for another provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Pearland, TX on June 11th, 2019
Beware of switching early
Beware when asked to switch over early. I should have asked questions at the time and avoided incurring a $25 minimum usage fee. When I asked for the $25 to be credited back to my account as it was the company's mistake not mine, customer service replied my contract would have expired on a Sunday, thus needed to switch over on a weekday. Following this logic, had I just started the contract naturally the next day on a Monday, I wouldn't have incurred this nonsense as it is the beginning of their in the billing cycle. Shame on this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Teresa from Missouri City, TX on March 4th, 2019
Bill Pay
Been a customer since summer 2018. Have paid my bills through bill pay with my bank for many years without any problems. Three months in a row i have been charged late fees. Called on TWO PHONE LINES at the same time (cell and land) to the company and was ON HOLD FOR OVER A HOUR on both before recording said to leave message and will be contacted within 24-48 hrs.Called again next day and got through, asked if they were closed on the day I called and representative told me no. I explained to the representative about the charges and was told they did not receive the payment on due date, but received them one day late. I set all payments on due date with my bank and on one payment, was set up one day earlier than due date and they they still said they got it one day late. This is the only company that has somehow not gotten their payment on the due date. The representative said the bank was at fault for not sending the checks on time. She also told me she was authorized to wave one month, but would have to send an e-mail to someone else for review of the others, i asked for a copy of e-mail and all i got was a confirmation number. I called bill pay at my bank and was told the payments are sent early enough to all, and some are cashed before the due date. I do not recommend this company. The only way this is happening is, (1) on purpose or (2) they do not check their PO Box daily. At this review (48 hrs later) still have not heard from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Rockwall, TX on December 28th, 2018
Complete SCAM in regards to rates and billing
Started with this company back in August 2015, at that time there were no problems what so ever, rate was 0.03500 per kw hour and a $4.95 monthly surcharge.... today my bill is 0.08100 per kw and a $14.95 service charge! This is a COMPLETE rip off of the public! This company cannot PROVE that I EVER agreed to a plan that was more than DOUBLE my previous bill! AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS UNLESS YOU HAVE LOTS OF EXTRA $$$$ to send them each and every month!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greg from Fort Worth, TX on September 28th, 2017
Great Prices Horrible Billing Issues
I changed energy suppliers not long ago, and in order for me to get with OurEnergy and be in good standing, they needed a letter from my previous supplier. My letter stated that I had not had a late payment in 24 months with them. I'll be damned, this is the 9th month I have been with OurEnergy and the 4th pink slip that's been issued. Every one of these was resolved with a phone call, but I don't have time to call them every month because they don't post my payment when it's received. It's never until after I call that they say, "Oh it was received on the 24th(due date) but yet, according to the accounting, it wasn't posted for 3 days. You asked for payment on a particular date and you got it. Because you chose not to post it on that date, how can you penalize me? Just terribly upset that I still have 15 more months :-(

I would only recommend this company if you live next door to the office and can walk your payment over to them and wait on them to post it. Unless however, you have time for monthly phone calls because you're payment was posted late and they charged you a late fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PAYMENTS NOT POSTED ON TIME from Katy on November 15th, 2016
Be Aware of Late Billing Charges
As has been reported by others, they seem to like charging late fees for payments not posted on time.
My bank sends my payment several days in advance, but constantly Our Energy does not get it posted on time. Therefore I get a late charge to my account.
I have had good success with Patricia Vela in Customer Service. I usually e-mail her with a question and/or concern and she will respond within a couple of hours. Usually sooner.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nancy Zacharias from Houston on April 27th, 2016
Rates good, service bad
I've been with Our Energy about 3 1/2 years. The rates have been great but their response to customer service requests is horrible. The Reps have been very nice on the phone but nothing gets done that I've requested without multiple calls. Currently, I've been waiting 2 months to get an average monthly billing. I keep calling, they say they handed it off to get the amount and will call back. I never get a call back. Absolutely no follow through. So, I call again and again and again or email again and again. They're always nice, just nothing gets done. If it wasn't for the good rate, I'd be gone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Betty C. from Waxahachie on February 7th, 2015
Contract Expired
When I got my bill I noticed a $76.73 TDSP Charge and my rate had gone up from .0819 to .0879. I called customer services and was told that contract had expired (12 months). I told her that I had not received any notification to which I got no response. It was like "so, pay up and shut up". I am in the process of filing a complaint with BBB and the Utilithy Commisison of Texas. Stay away from this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LeRoy Bishaw from Crowley on January 20th, 2014
Horrid billing experience
I had Our Energy electric service for 1 year. Throughout the entire time I had my payments automatically drafted from my credit card each month. We cancelled our energy service with Our Energy because my husband in the Army and we're moving to Germany next week. I spoke with the company 3 weeks ago making sure that everything was good with the service cancellation prior to leaving the country. I was informed that my bill would be an automatic draft like in previous billing cycles and assured that all was well. On Monday, June 3rd I received an email that 139.70 would be drafted from my credit card. That was normal procedure. This morning Thursday, June 6th I received a call from a collection agency that my bill had been turned over to collections and that I owed $221.78. I was mortified. My credit is spotless. I called Our Energy and was told that the bill was for this last payment which was due on June 19th. I asked how on earth did I turned over to a collection agency for a bill that wasn't even due yet when I received confirmation that an automatic debit would be done. Long story short. The collection agency was threatening me and I had to have the supervisor at Our Energy call to fix this problem before this mistake hit my credit report. I do not recommend Our Energy at all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tamara Brethouwer from Killeen on June 6th, 2013



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

38 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Poor Customer Service
I was just told that a refund, an electronic refund, will take 45 to 60 days. Apparently they have over 10,000 customers awaiting a refund. This is 2021, it does not take 60 days to press a button and issue a refund. We are in the midst of a pandemic. Most families do not have extra money laying around.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shannon from Cypress, TX on April 14th, 2021
Blindsided
Our Energy is apparently now Frontier Energy, I found out when we got an email from Frontier telling us to set up our online account again. Then we figure out that our contract expired in mid-December. Our Energy never notified us that the contract expired and they were putting us on month to month which increased our base rate from 4.5 cents to 11.9 cents. I'm not dealing with either provider again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terrible Service from Melissa, TX on February 13th, 2021
Cannot bill
This company is incompetent. They have had billing problems in the past and they still do. Do not do business with them. Twice now my credit card has rejected them. Nobody else (including frauders) has a problem billing my credit card but Our Energy. Once the credit card payment fails, they get mad at you. It's not MY fault they are viewed as fraudulent vendors. I'll be glad when my contract is over.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Fort Worth, TX on January 19th, 2021
Cancellation Process
We were signed up to Our Enegrgy through Energy Ogre. We changes our living arrangements and moved out of our house to live in an RV for 2 years traveling the country. Our Energy did not accept our RV Bill of Sale because that was in my wifes name and the Our Energy contract was in my name. There was no other documentation we could provide as we have no permanent residence. I understand rules, but there are situations that do not apply and their unwillingness to have a process for mobile living is nothing more than a money grab. They will get a free $125 from me. I do not recommend Our Energy nor Energy Ogre.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alan Johnson from Frisco, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Disconnected me with a payment due 2 weeks out without a call...
I have a billing due on Nov 18th. My credit card on file had expired, the disconnect me for non payment on Nov 4th. No phone call (although Sonia in customer service said they did say they may have called and not left a message). Will be terminating plan when contract is up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alex from Bedford, TX on November 4th, 2019
Deceiving practice
Been customer for a over 5 years thay draw you in with a low rate then cancel you contract at prime usage times july december without notice charging double rates very year the bill goes from 200 to 500 in one moth for two to three months back down to under 200 with no change in my household receiving text and phone calls for disconnection thee times in one month after paying over 1000 $$ in two months DO NOT GO HERE !!!! Will be changing as soon as bill is paid ...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Big Scam from Del Rio, TX on September 26th, 2019
Do No Use OUR Energy
They charge a late fee every month, not because they did not receive my payment before the due date, but because they failed to process my payment before the due date. Unacceptable!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Unhappy from Allen, TX on September 4th, 2019
Horrible Billing and and even worse Customer Service
I use online billing and after my payment was late a few times, I started to set up the payment a week early. Come to find out that if you use online billing, a check is cut to Our Energy since they are not setup to receive online payments from a Bank. I use Bank of America. Called Customer Service and told them my renew was coming up and they basically brushed me off. I can't deal with this company for another year. DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME with OUR ENERGY. There is a Reason it is called "OUR" and not "YOUR"
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greg Janak from Houston, TX on February 6th, 2019
Awful company
Read the other reviews that discuss deceptive billing practices and failure to post payments, creating past due fees, disconnection notice, etc. only 2.5 months in to the service and I hate them. I have over 800 credit score, pay my bills on time....they are a joke. I am now going to Texas Utility Commission to file formal complaint and may go so far as mail fraud and FTC for trend of deceptive billing practices. Join me and we can shut them down. Don't be fooled. And I am not so sure there is not grounds for civil suit. There is no telling how many unsuspecting people are being taken advantage of. This makes my blood boil
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Complaint On Payments And Billing ---Deceptive Trade from Dallas, TX on November 12th, 2018
Want to become customer
I want to buy electricity as a new customer but after reading all the reviews i have decided not to proceed. Thanks everyone who wrote the reviews and save my time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Richmond, TX on October 17th, 2018


Recommended Electricity Plans