Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Payless Power are the order experience, rated at 3.3 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 3.2 of 5.
5 Stars
31%
 
4 Stars
18%
 
3 Stars
8%
 
2 Stars
7%
 
1 Stars
36%
 

Recent Good Review from Bellard

Awesome
No hassle .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bellard from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2021


Our Analysis of Payless Power

Community Outreach
4.5 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
3.9 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
3.8 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Complaint Resolution
3.7 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.1 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

57 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good
I love this company and recommend them. The electric bill is so much lower. The convenience of auto pay and their customer service is excellent. When I have a question, I call them, and they answer right away.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good Service from Electra, TX on April 17th, 2021
Excellent customer service
The friendliest customer reps that truly wanting to help you. They go above and beyond
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie from Lufkin, TX on December 19th, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind words! Glad we can help!
— Payless Power
New Order
All good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Katy, TX on October 19th, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Account
No comment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Aaron Powell from Baytown, TX on October 1st, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Great company!
They are always fast, friendly and very professional.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B.J. B from Fort Worth, TX on August 31st, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Love the daily notifications
I've enjoyed the ease with the service and plan. I am moving and will for a time have two locations so forced to look at alternatives due to policy restrictions that I can't be two places at once. I can't be caught not having AC in Texas during Summer while setting up the new and moving out of the old. Who came up with that policy. Also noticed the rates have changed ... Guess I will be risking another change but I did love how I always knew my balance and if something was wrong due to the charges (roommate) ... Great way to keep track and know when to pull back and shut things off! Not to mention FACEBOOK and the things I learned along the way!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Faith Leapove from Belton, TX on August 12th, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Amazing
Amazing
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terri from Midland, TX on August 6th, 2020
Thank you so much for the 5 star review!
— Payless Power
I love it!!!!
I love this electric company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

5 Stars from Corpus Christi, TX on June 25th, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Residential customer
Just overall customer satisfactory
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nico Perez from San Angelo, TX on May 19th, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Easy to Use
No comment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nid from Alpine, TX on March 19th, 2020
We are truly thankful for you as a customer and we thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our company.
— Payless Power


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

33 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Happy Customer
O complaints
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Curtis from Dallas, TX on March 17th, 2021
Na
Na
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Na from Irving, TX on November 15th, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Yess
N a
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kayla from Abilene, TX on August 15th, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Good
Nice I like how I can see how much I use because I started unplugging stuff I didnt need and my amount went as according
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angel from Odessa, TX on August 7th, 2020
We are so pleased that you enjoy the daily messages via text, email or both-text & email. We truly feel this is the most powerful tool in maintaining control of the energy usage in ones home. Thank you for your business.
— Payless Power
Easy
Very easy to turn on and get started. I like that the electricity you are using is right in front of you on the web site. And paying your bill can not be any easier.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K Athearn from Dickinson, TX on June 5th, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Great customer service. Same day service hookup
Very prompt customer service and great rates. Was able to get signed up for service the same day.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nathan from Houston, TX on April 24th, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Sign up
Easy to apply and pay for
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

New Customer from Angleton, TX on February 19th, 2020
Thank you so much for the feedback it's greatly appreciated!
— Payless Power
I just signed up...
After comparing prices for Prepaid Plans, I decided to go to Payless Power. The process was so easy and the step by step are easy to follow. I will wait about the outcome of my billing once I move in into my new place.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Liz from Houston, TX on February 19th, 2020
Liz, we look forward to having you as a new customer and we hope that we meet your expectations.
— Payless Power
Awesomeness
Great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Adrienne from Houston, TX on November 29th, 2019
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
First
It was okay. I thought it was easy but wasn't offered any other plans but the one I'm on. I am kept up to date on how much electricity I have used. One day back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bonita from Dallas, TX on August 22nd, 2019
Bonita, Thank you for sharing your experience about the service. When enrolling we do offer 2 types of plans In the sales disclosure that is read to the customers. After reviewing your account, does show it was read, & agreed to. If you'd like to know more about the other plans that we offer please contact us at 888-963-9363 and we will be more than happy to switch your plan if you like.
— Payless Power


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Awesome
No hassle .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bellard from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2021
No further comment
No comment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

N/A from Humble, TX on April 1st, 2021
My opinion
Easy to use...great & cheap rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cassandra from Balch Springs, TX on August 14th, 2019
Thank you for your feedback its greatly appreciated! Payless Power is a company that has competitive prices. We pride ourselves to know that our product has no hidden fees, no gimmicks. We also offer a 20% discount when the balance is maintained above $35 on your standard rate. To learn more please contact us at 888-963-9363.
— Payless Power
Review
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cstacie17 from Grand Prairie, TX on September 30th, 2018
Thanks for rating Payless Power(:
— Payless Power
First time customer
First time using the company. Spoke to customer service rep and helped me understand the process. Very helpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stacie from Grand Prairie, TX on September 11th, 2018
Stacie-Thank you for your feedback happy our customer care representatives were able to help you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 if you have anymore questions or concerns about your account.
— Payless Power
Service is ok
I needed a credit reference for an important application. Payless Power customer service would only give me reference from the time you have had this online site. I was a customer for a year prior but he wouldn't give that info for my application. Longevity was my whole point of requesting credit reference. It hurt me in long run to not get that information.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ok from Savoy, TX on August 28th, 2018
We do apologize for the inconvenience. We did launch a new system therefore we could only pull up account history from the time the system transition till current day. We will be happy to assist you on a proof of service if that will help because unfortunately we don't offer letter of credits.
— Payless Power
Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge.
Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge for lower usage accounts like mine was so my power bill was way more than what I had previously been paying.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Didn't See High Daily Charge from Mckinney, TX on July 19th, 2018
Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate.
— Payless Power
Experience
The experience is good but I think it is too pricey
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Experience from Mcallen, TX on July 11th, 2018
Thank you for rating Payless Power. We do offer ways on receiving discounts please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for more information.
— Payless Power
Expensive
Ok I've always loved payless power until now all of a sudden yall just started charging me alot.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Misty from Forney, TX on December 29th, 2017
Thank you Misty for your review it's greatly appreciated. With the weather we experienced your usage will come in out of the normal, but you can always verify the usage that is being reported using www.smartmetertexas.com.
— Payless Power
No Terms of Services, rates can change
When a rate has changed you will only be notified via a txt message only. Pay as you go is currently 12.2 per kWh, if u keep a balance above 35$ it's 8.7, so there advertised 10.9 does not exist anymore(summertime excuse raise in rates). Also if you do not use above 17 kWh they can charge you a extra .50 per day. On there web page you cannot review your monthly kWh usage for comparison's, you can only pay your bill. One good thing I found out late was you can pay from your bank account without being charged 3$ that ace rips you off with, probably could have saved $100 bucks if I'd known that sooner a year ago.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr Anderson from Houston on June 21st, 2016
Mr Anderson- Thank you for your feedback it's very important to us. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate. Our web page was very limited on what you could see in regards to your account information but we are able to send you a monthly statement VIA email or mailed or per your request can send every month. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for anymore questions or concerns.
— Payless Power


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Double of what other power companies charge- avoid this one at all costs!
I am a very cheap person when it comes to electricity- and it's all Payless Power's fault.

Unplugging appliances as soon as they're not in use- turning lights off as soon as I leave the room, leaving them off when I'm in my bedroom, covering up windows and doors- you name it I've done it all in order to keep my electric bill low. And by "low" with Payless Power, I mean shelling out $40 every other week or even weekly.

It gave me anxiety, checking my balance and knowing I'm getting low. I switched, and I expected the new power company to be worse since I left lights on, had the a/c on for a handful of days...but it was only $50 for the whole month! I am in absolute shock, Payless Power is an absolute scam. Under no circumstances should you EVER switch to Payless Power.

You've been warned.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jack E. from Midland, TX on April 19th, 2021
While it may be good for some, this company sucks!!
I've had this company for about 5 months now. They charge more than what a normal plan would. I had Tara Energy before this and I was paying $100 or less a month.
With Payless Power I'm paying damn near over $150 a month. And they have a switch hold on my meter?! This company is crooked. I hate it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Reanna Simerly from Houston, TX on July 7th, 2020
Ms Simerly- I understand that you are concerned with your recent monthly costs and that this is not a good thing. A quick review of your historical usage shows that the address where you live consumes a lower than average amount of power in the spring and fall but a much higher amount in the summer. You are experiencing this now. Please note that Payless Power has not raised your rates however your consumption from April through July has drastically spiked from 2019 to 2020. Please call us at 888 963 9363 and we will be happy to go over this with you.
— Payless Power
Worse power company ever
I thought they had reasonable rates when I started service with them.After the first months the rates started going up till I was paying 20 dollars a day for two people.They will cut you off quickly to get an additional 25 dollars.I think we were better off before deregulation.This company is bait and switch.If you need electricity dont get with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mitch from Bedford, TX on June 29th, 2019
We are terribly sorry you have had a poor experience with our company and want to know more, so that we may improve. We also understand the frustration that the cost of electricity rises in the summer or sometimes the winter here in Texas because energy consumption increases substantially with the temperature changes outside. The key driver of higher energy cost is because the air conditioning and heating systems work much harder when it is hot or cold outside. Just like a refrigerator, the HVAC system in a home turns on based on the desired temperature set on the thermostat and these systems do so whether someone is home or not. Our blog contains many articles on energy savings tips, which can be viewed at https://paylesspower.com/blog/. We also offer a discount program to save 20% off of our standard rate by simply by maintaining a balance over $35. A supervisor would truly love to speak to you to see if we can do something to meet your expectations. If you would contact us at https://paylesspower.com/contact-us/, then then we can have someone review your account immediately to see if there is anything further we can do to help. Thank you for your business and your candid review.
— Payless Power
A company of thieves
Tried their service on a temporary sublet. Immediately noticed the smart methods of stealing your available credit. Rates per kilowatt are as high as $2.85 cents. That's per 1 kilowatt. Just another immoral American thief.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Payless Power Is A THIEF ! from Houston, TX on November 30th, 2018
Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Centerpoint. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes.We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Centerpoint owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.
— Payless Power
Ok if temporary
Needed service temporarily so figured prepaid was the way to go. I paid $40 a week although I was rarely home. Great idea but too expensive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KMC from Richmond, TX on September 30th, 2018
Thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated. Payless Power does offer discounts off your usage, please contact us at 888-963-9363 to learn more.
— Payless Power
Paying too much
Paying too much for electric
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

from Temple, TX on July 11th, 2018
We will be more than happy to go over ways on saving. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363
— Payless Power
Terms & Rates not as quoted. Website portal only for payments NO INFO
At first, thought Payless would be great. Was receiving daily texts of $$ charged and KWH charged.
New website rollout, since daily texts no longer include $$ spent, just total kwh and your balance remaining.
Trying to camouflage what you are actually being charged that day, without customer's calculation.
Continually told, great new stuff on website.... available soon.
Told today "it was decided" by Payless Power to not provide customers with daily $$ charged, as this will soon be available on website. The only thing available on new site other than ways to pay/fund your account, is monthly billing statement. You cannot lookup any billing/usage history in real time, need to review your texts or wait til monthly statement in mail, or online. Hell, you cannot even look up what your rate or average is. Being charged daily and getting hit with 558kw charge, with no idea what your rate is means you cannot calculate what came out of our account without seeking out prior day's "balance remaining" and deducting manually. Great way to hide rates & $$$ under guise of customer improvement. It has been decided by me to shop elsewhere
for power. Quoted rate 8.6 continually charged 11.6 /kwh Hard to detect until your monthly bill, or if you gather your texts & calculator
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Magickly from Corpus Christi, TX on January 19th, 2018
We do apologize for your experience with our service. Yes we did launch a new & improved online portal that would give you the opportunity to view your account in a more detailed format. But when that did occur still had some bugs that needed fixing so again we do apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you. The Portal is up & running excellent now.
— Payless Power
Just Got This And Already Over it.
I just signed up for this bc I needed service ASAP. I was just charged over $7 on my first day. That is crazy I live in a 600 Sq Ft apartment alone. I'm adamant on not using lights when the sun is out and keep my AC at 68 degrees. They also advertised $100 credit to new customers, which I did not receive. I wish I had done more research before signing up. I will be switching asap.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Teresa Cortez from Dallas, TX on January 14th, 2018
Teresa- Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. After reviewing your account all usage that has been reported are showing to be actual, also you could verify these reads using www.smartmetertexas.com. The $100 credit is a specific plan that offers a $10 credit every month for 10 months, unfortunately you selected a different plan that did not offer that promotion. Please feel free to reach us at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.
— Payless Power
Was Great! Until they were acquired by another company...
We decided to go with prepaid power because we (me & my roomate) don't have enough money to pay the big bills we used to get with TXU energy. All year long 2017- the rates were great. Electricity was cheap, until recently after Hurricane Harvey.... they updated their payment system & now their service is ridiculous. They "OFFER A DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN" - they want you to owe them money, doesnt make sense. It does make sense though for the company to put you in their pocket like that, they are raising rates and diminsh your account balance so fast that you go negative and then they allow you to run up negative $100+ and start texting you to get on their "DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN".

What they've done may not be unethical but it is most definitely irritating, a business does have the right to change its service prices however it is no longer beneficial to use them as a electricity provider. Without getting angry and really speaking my mind, I am writing this review to let everyone know they are not worth trying and will eat your money so fast that it doesnt even make sense. I have three bedroom house and every week, were having to put money on the account.

I conserve energy and still lose it all. This review was written by me, allen. I ask all of you to feel free to shoot me a email at hello@designsbyallen.com before signing up with them so I can tell you how bad they are. I dont want to make a fool of myself by getting angry so I'll just let you all know not go with payless power aka paypwr.com

BIGGEST RIP OFF, SCAM, & HORRIBLE SERVICE

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM, YOU WILL REGRET IT
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allen from Katy, TX on January 3rd, 2018
Allen- We do apologize for your experience while using our service. During the Hurricane Harvey event we were working with the customer on suspending disconnects for the whole month while we understood customers needed to get situated after this natural disaster occurred. We were also providing a list of organizations to help assist customer who were negative after usage continue to accumulate increasing negative balances making it harder for some customer to get caught up. Our Deferred Payment Plan is a courtesy that we offer to help assist if the full payment cannot be met, we do apologize again for your experience you had while using our service.
— Payless Power
Paymore Power
This was the most expensive electric company I found in Texas. Rates are too high. I was paying about 100 a month. I had to find another provider asap. I switched and I am very happy now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BB from Abilene, TX on November 30th, 2017
Thank you for your feedback, we do regret to hear that you were not satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

65 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Sudden turn for the worse
Having a pre-paid plan, we used to enjoy a discount by maintaining a minimum balance. However, starting January 2021, the discount disappeared, and the value proposition for a pre-paid plan vanished. Additionally, a minimum daily charge of $2.67 is added (I am aware of no other major electric company that implements this immoral practice). This minimum daily charge means that you will be paying a minimum of $80 per month even if you unplug everything and go away on vacation!

You'll probably see a tone-deaf response saying something to the effect of that the changes are consistent with the TOS, which is available on their website.

Indeed, Payless Power suddenly forgot how to treat their customers right.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Houston, TX on February 10th, 2021
.41 cents
My account was over. 41 cent and they turned off my power
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

EEM from Humble, TX on December 15th, 2020
Hello- With our services being prepaid anytime balance is negative the account is risking disconnection. We do send daily alerts notifying low balance and also advise how to request an extension if needed. Please contact us for any questions or concerns.
— Payless Power
Horrible
It was just horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy from Houston, TX on July 13th, 2020
Ms Anderson- Based on contacts that you have made to our Customer Care department over the last couple of weeks it seems like you are struggling with the increased costs of electricity during our current Texas heatwave. I understand that these increased costs put a huge financial strain on folks and this is not a good thing. Please understand that Payless Power has not increased your rates. We do see that your usage has increased substantially however this is quite common wth recent temperatures. Payless Power offers more assistance options than any other pre-paid provider in the State, to my knowldege ... including waiving all disconnection or reconnection fees. Payless Power also participates fully in the State's Covid-19 Electricity Relief Program. This is an assistance program set up for Texas Residents who have lost work due to the Pandemic. There are alot other types of assistance programs in your area. Please call us at 888 963 9363 for details.
— Payless Power
Emotional Distress
The manager and employees are liars and is witholden my hand written check that the bank stateed it doesn't accept. Its been over 12 days of them holding my check and I still await for a refund for being dissatisfied with ignorant communicated agents and had to switch power service because I was unhappy with thier miserable communication as a paying customer. I was told that my registered email check was not acceptable but I could mail it in but then when I did send it certified mail, it was denied after recieving an email I could mail it. I was given an off the record cell phone number of a manger to speak with about the matter because the call wasn't being recorded. I totally feel discriminated against and this company has caused me emotional distress which I send out invoices for!!! With prejudice
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DBA SHAWANA LATRICE POWELL (c) RRM from on April 15th, 2020
We apologize for the experience. We have tried locating your account with the email provided unfortunately not able to locate it. We have sent an email if you could please reply with your account information so we can research on exactly whats going on with the account or what's causing the delay. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience and would like to speak to you about the issue if we have not resolved it to your satisfaction.
— Payless Power
RIP OFF COMPANY
They really do NOT deserve 1 star. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Be expected to pay at least $30 for 6 days of 4-5 kilowatt usage or so they supposed that amount based on estimates...I'll say it again...ESTIMATES and actual. They claim Centerpoint sends them the actual metered amount (whenever) and that they might sometimes "undercharge" customers based on their "estimated" daily calculations. Hear me out new customers, as you maintain this company you'll see that over time they'll start ripping you off. I'm hardly ever home and when I am I only use a desk lamp to study for a few hours. Even unplug most appliances (except for fridge) to conserve energy. BUT they increase the price amount and inflate (lie) the usage. I'm switching in a few days.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rip Off Company!!! from Houston, TX on March 26th, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience. Good or bad, this is an important part of customer reviews. Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Centerpoint. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes. Thats it. We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Centerpoint owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at http://www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.

— Payless Power
Rip Off
I put 20$ just to see and less the 24 hours it was gone!! Looking for another prepaid service now!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tammy from Baytown, TX on November 4th, 2019
Tammy, We apologize for your experience. We would be more than happy to go over your billing independently. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on http://www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home.
— Payless Power
False Advertisement
This company is deceiving and manipulative. They advertise are rate of 12.1 cent with no additional fees but youll never receive the rate of 12.1 cent. Ive spoken to a number of customer service agents who like to talk to you like youre stupid until you pull out a calculator and show them the numbers dont add up. Theyll place you on a long hold because they dont understand why. During this time theyre trying to come up with an excuse for the false advertisement. They try to say theres an additional TDU delivery charge but their sales agents will tell you all of the charges and fees are bundled into that 12.1 cent. Ive even called and pretend like I was a new customer, asked if there was an additional TDU charge and they will tell you no. My balance has always been over $35 yet I never receive the rate they advertise. If that isnt bad enough if your balance goes under $35 they will really start taking advantage of you. Charge as much as .20 per kWH. If you try to keep you electricity consumption down because of their high rates, they will charge you an additional $1 on top of that rate. This is completely deceiving and false advertisement. If youre ready this youve most likely been scammed by them already and youre not alone. Their sales agents and customer service representatives are trained liars.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Another Ripped Off Customer from Austin, TX on June 6th, 2019
Hi Edward, Payless Power received this review earlier in the form of a Public Utilities Commission complaint from Alexander Blair. As with the previous complaints from Mr. Blair, Payless Power is completely willing to speak to him in order to explain his billing. If he chooses, we can also simply provide our data to the Public Utilities Commission so that they can analyze it on Mr. Blair's behalf. Although Mr. Blair has had suspicions regarding his billing throughout his time as a Payless Power Customer, the PUCT has been able to verify in the previous instances that Payless Power's billing is accurate and in alignment with his plan. Feel free to contact us at 888 963 9363 for assistance. We would love to have the opportunity to answer all your questions.
— Payless Power
Deceptive Practices
Garbage. I signed up for a plan that states "$50 credit after 30 days of usage." However, the fine print states "180 must be maintained, or PaylessPower can reverse the credit." Why is this garbage? Because the TOS that displays during the online sign up differs from the TOS that I was sent, and the TOS that displays when I login to my account and look under "plan documents." This 180 day requirement is nowhere to be found. Is the company technically correct? Sure. But this is extremely deceptive. Why should I not assume that the TOS shown at sign up is not the same as the TOS that is provided with the plan? Didn't think I would have to read through two different TOS sheets to know what I was signing up for. Shady and deceitful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jonathan from Dallas, TX on July 24th, 2018
Jonathan- We do apologize for the misunderstanding, We will be happy to go over this issue with you to independently confirm it with you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363.
— Payless Power
VERY EXPENSIVE!!! The "Rate" is NOT the Rate!!!
These people promise you a certain rate but overcharge you. The scam is to charge you far more than they advertise then "possibly" rebate you some money if you scream loud enough and meet a bunch of conditions. If you contact the company about this they act like you are just an idiot that can't do simple math to figure what they are REALLY charging you. Very deceptive marketing. Any company that has to market like this to get customers should tell you something about their dishonesty. I have had to file a complaint with the Utilities Commission. The service was so bad, I was only with the company for a few days before I switched. On a positive note, if you really like being lied to and getting ripped off, then this is the company for you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PO'd Customer from Sealy, TX on June 17th, 2018
We do apologize for the experience you had while using our service. We will be happy to go over this issue with you to independently confirm it with you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363.
— Payless Power
Changes made recently, charging daily when I use no electric!!
I use to love Payless, but totally reconsidering. I get daily texts giving me my usages, thing is it's costing me over $1.50 to $2.98 or day when I haven't been using electric. My building is a storage building. I go there maybe 2 times a month, I turn on one light bulb. For 30 minutes max. But get nearly $3 charge every day. Says I use 1.08 to 2.53 kwh , how electric is not used. I'm getting ripped off. Think I'm going to change.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed from Hubbard, TX on June 4th, 2018
Thank you for your feedback you are very important to us and we strive to bill our customers accurately. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.
— Payless Power


All Payless Power Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Pre-paid
1 month
Pre-paid
15.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$49 min balance
12 Month Pre-paid
12 month
Pre-paid
14.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$75 min balance