Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Pulse Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.3 of 5.
5 Stars
14%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
5%
 
2 Stars
11%
 
1 Stars
66%
 

Recent Good Review from Mary

Low Price
My electricity bill went down for half of what I was paying
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary from Houston, TX on March 13th, 2021


Our Analysis of Pulse Power

Plans & Products
2.9 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Innovation
2.7 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Community Outreach
1.9 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Market Perception
1.3 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Complaint Resolution
0.6 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Low Price
My electricity bill went down for half of what I was paying
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary from Houston, TX on March 13th, 2021
Good company
Good company for electric service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sarah from Sealy, TX on February 27th, 2021
Best Choice
I chose Pulse Power due to the plan. But there was an added bonus in the plan I did not see until the first billing. The bill credit product adjustment lowered my bills each month making the summer heat not so bad.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven from Bedford, TX on January 22nd, 2021
Excellent power company
Good rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Power from Humble, TX on January 10th, 2021
Best Electric Company I have had in six years
I've had several electric companies in the past 6 years, they all cheated me out of money. Of the 3 or 4 that I have had, this one is the best, their rates are low and have cut my electric bill in half. They are legit. I went from paying any where from $225.00-$250.00 per month on average to $143.00 per month and my usage has not changed. This month I had a credit. Now I know that the other ones were lying on the bill, the wattages were elevated and the rates were exagggeerated. Wish I had chosen Pulse power six years ago.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeanne Fugate from Houston, TX on December 2nd, 2020
Awesome price for a small apartment
Ive enjoyed Pulse Power and the incredibly low bill. I even got free nights!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Riri from Arlington, TX on October 20th, 2020
Satisfied customer
Overall im enjoying the way you put customers first when calling about a problem customer service is great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Y Hollins from Cooper, TX on May 14th, 2020
Awsomeness
Love my lower bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laura Garza from Ferris, TX on May 2nd, 2020
Reliable and Affordable
I have been pleased with the service from beginning. The rates have been reasonable and the process for payment is simple.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SmudgySage from Fort Worth, TX on April 18th, 2020
Very well satisfied
If it stays good during summer months I'm hooked
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dinsh Khan from Columbus, TX on April 3rd, 2020


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Pulse Power
The company I would say is a good choice online billing & account information is a plus also they send a weekly consumption email if u sign up which is helpful. Now if u prefer customer service via phone it becomes a little bit of an issue due to the wait time to get an agent"if" u get one (sometime. Also given the circumstances with the virus and all if u need assistants payin the bill u can't get it through the normal places not sure u can get it other places either, not sure as to why but your on your own. In my experience other than those things generally it's a good company that needs to expand & find more ways of providing help.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pulse Power Customer from Corpus Christi, TX on November 26th, 2020
Good
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JP from Missouri City, TX on May 11th, 2020
Pulse Power
Response was quick and easy. Once u are accepted the process doesn't take long to connect, just set a date and your all set. I would also like to point out that the rates are fairly low & easily maintained to keep your monthly payments affordable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Roshan Smith from Corpus Christi, TX on March 25th, 2020
So far, so great!
I've been a customer for a little more than a month. I got a great fixed rate, and I LOVE the weekly usage report with the bill predictor! So far, I'm a very happy customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erin from Kingwood, TX on August 7th, 2019



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Lights
So far plan is just right!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shannon from Houston, TX on September 8th, 2020
DECEPTIVE ADs - bait & switch
I signed up for this on 6/29 and on 7/27 I got a bill for a whopping $132 at 15.4 kwh and not the 5.9cent KWH. Which is .10 cents per KWH higher than my previous provider TXU. I thought they charged the highest rate in Austin TX.

Pulse Power just did a classic switch and bait, but it is also deceptive, because they bait you with 5.9 cent and a teeny-tiny clause "average price per kwh for 1000 kwh usage". I totally overlooked that, because I never in 65 years, based price on usage. I am 65 and the clause is deliberatlly too small and easily overlooked. It is like "Hey, 5.9cent!" and then whispering under your breath "if kwh is over 1000 usage,".

What Luis the rep (great customer service) on the phone explained to me on 7/28/20, is that if I don't hit >= 1,000 kwh, then I am billed the highest rate 15.4. I only get the 5.9 cent rate if I GO OVER/EQUAL to 1000 kwh. Now I am contracted to them for a year.

BUYER BEWARE. They grab you as the lowest rate, and in teeny-tiny print it reads 5.9 cent "average price per kwh for 1000 kwh usage".

I am totally screwed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kendall-johns from Austin, TX on July 28th, 2020
Rating
Good, just signed up for this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tammy Smith from Kingwood, TX on May 7th, 2020
Cant get it right!
Everything great customer service top notch! Good rates! The problem Im having issues with is paying my bill!!! 2 months Ive tried automatic payments! And 2 months Ive gotten disconnection notices dont know what the problem is!!! So I always have to call and pay the payment!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lanita Polk from Lake Jackson, TX on April 4th, 2020
Quick & Easy
It was very easy to compare and shop through 'Texas Electricity Ratings'. However, as most of the electricity providers offer 'Contract buying'. I was not offered and had to pay out of my pocket for the previous contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Israr Hussain from Allen, TX on January 21st, 2020



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Leaving due to poor Customer Service
I haven't had any billing issues or auto-payment glitches thankfully.
Except for... SIX days with no electricity. An actual message to PulsePower's customer service about no power on Feb 15, 2021 and they charged me for usage on Feb 15th. We lost pets due to the below freezing temps in our home and to have a report show we had power was a slap in the face. I sent a message to PulsePower only to be told "it is an average sent by ONCOR." so basically the blame game. I wasn't asking for a credit or any special treatment just acknowledgement that PulsePower knew we had no power and it was a mistake. Oh no that was too hard. So I let the CSR know I was not happy with the lack of empathy and sent the report I was using from our monthly bill to make my complaint.
NATALIE had the nerve to respond telling me to sign up for smartmeter reports from smartmetertexas. I DID NOT ASK for how to determine a darn thing.
I signed a 12 month contract knowing there was a chance the company I chose wasn't the right one for us. I will be moving providers the day the contract expires.
To think, Cirro showed my parent empathy when ONCOR cut power for 24+ hours on a 100+ F degree day by removing charges on her Cirro bill that were from ONCOR and ONCOR even reimbursed her for lost groceries in the freezer.... SHAME ON PULSEPOWER!
Absolutely no empathy training for the PulsePower reps. Not everyone wants a reimbursement or needs help with a late payment. Sometimes we just need a company to acknowledge a horrible thing happened and they care. I bet Natalie is terrified of reptiles and so her lack of emotion was more on par with YAY MORE REPTILES ARE DEAD! Who cares that it was painful and confusing for them.
Okay done. and DONE WITH PulsePower.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

UNHAPPY WITH CSR from Temple, TX on March 18th, 2021
Poor service and management
Due to 2 computer glitches I was charged 2 late charges and while they were in dispute they turned off my service over a $9 late charge that was there fault.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

McNeil from Hungerford, TX on November 18th, 2020
Bait and switch watch details
In 10 years of average electric bills from other providers I have never ever had bills consistently from $150 to $200 over $300 us. Pulse consistently went over these. till the final bill hit almost $800. from the other complaints I see maybe it was in the fine print I did not understand. each month our usage remained the same as in previous years, yet each month the bills each went higher.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jerry M from Brownsville, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Poor customer service
The title says it all
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Poor from Houston, TX on July 29th, 2020
Pulse Power Review
My only complaints choosing Pulse Power are the following (2):

One, Auto Pay is not always reliable on Pulse Power Website, so you have to double check your billing accounts to make sure your payment was deducted and sent to Pulse Power.

Two, I went with the Pulse Power $0.063 Plan, thinking I would benefit from it. However, my bill cost me way more then I expected due to the Delivery Charges of approximately $64.00 a Month. When I selected Pulse Power, I was expecting to pay an electric bill of approximately $120.00, to $150.00, max at 1800 KWHs per month, with all taxes and delivery charges included. I am paying $175.00, to $200.00 per month at 1700 KWHs, with all taxes and delivery charges included.

My fault, I should have done more homework.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J. Rios from Joshua, TX on July 14th, 2020
Hard to remove early termination fee
When I signed up I told him I only needed electricity for a month as I was visiting friends house. They told me to simply tell them I moved out and there would be no early termination fee. I was charged $220 termination fee for three weeks of usage. With other electric companies I was able to tell them my forwarding address and that was enough. Pulse power requires Difficult to provide Documentation for move out before they will return the early termination fee. And even after providing that it took me nine hours and threats to Report them to the AEP before they finally removed the ETF
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nancy from Mission, TX on May 23rd, 2020
2 month Review
My rate was lower than my last company...but my monthly bill is extremely higher.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

P from on February 24th, 2020
Stay Away from the Provider!
I have has continual billing problems. I have 2 houses with them and they applied payments to the wrong address. Never again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RBK from Houston, TX on February 12th, 2020
I hope I don't have to call customer service again
New customer. Went to registration page on line and correct information rejected multiple times. Customer service rep talked so slow and was so dense she sounded high. Could barely hear for chatter in background. She didn't want to address whether their information they had was correct because any error was because I "made an entry error", although I had cut and pasted their information(!) from the bill. After several minutes of her talking about 6 words per minute we found, yes, they had put the wrong zip code in so I couldn't register with the correct information. No apology; no interest in fixing. Customer service that can only be described as "stupid".
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jan I from Dallas, TX on September 9th, 2019
Duppef
I was misled about the price. I am paying $.12/kWh . vs $.08/kWh. Very upsetting. I feel I was dupe
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark Ingebretson from Houston, TX on August 22nd, 2019


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

66 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
RUN FAR AWAY FROM PULSE POWER
They can't even process bank draft payments, you set up auto pay and the fail to run it and then charge you $30 because the bank refused to process the payment. Well that's bullshit because the bank doesn't even know about it because it was not presented by this RIPOFF COMPANY.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PULSE POWER SUCKS from Fort Worth, TX on April 27th, 2021
Pulse admitted their mistake, won't issue credit
I started my electricity service march 1 2021. I called around March 21 concerned because I was not receiving weekly usage reports. I spoke with a representative to calculate how much energy I needed to use the first month in order to receive the monthly bill credit of $95 for using 1,00 kWh. We researched my current usage and realized I was using the proper amount per week to reach this goal for my first month. The representative did not disclose that my first billing cycle would be a partial month. Since it was a partial month the billing cycle ended early, making our previous calculations irrelevant. Without the $95 credit my bill was $139.90. I called to speak with a manager named Henry who advised that the company was able to know that my billing cycle would not be a complete month and apologize for his agents lack of information and that I could have avoided this if I was given the correct information but refuses to credit my account due to this error. I am a diligent user but I cannot use the proper amount of energy without the proper and correct info. My contract is expires in 1 year and I will not renew with a company that will not take responsibility for their own mistakes when I am proactively trying to budget my usage and bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vanessa from Dallas, TX on April 22nd, 2021
Bad experience
Started great. Then bill went sky high with the same usage
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dulce Muniz from Del Rio, TX on March 18th, 2021
First Bill not equitable
I just switched to Pulse Power. I was billed for about two weeks on the first bill that put me in the 500-999 KWH bracket (.15 / KWH). The change over date will make a difference in your first bill. Beware that if you switch providers close to the beginning of their billing cycle you will have to pay a higher rate. Not being able to have an adjusted billing to me is not customer friendly. I would have accepted being billed for a 45 day period in lieu of the 2 week period which thru me into a higher rate category. After calling customer service they refused to adjust the first months bill. This is the worst company that I have dealt with since de-regulation took place. I will gladly pay their cancellation fee to get a competitive rate from another company that I feel will be much more customer oriented.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First Bill Excess from Roanoke, TX on March 17th, 2021
Charged $540 as a Termination of Contract
Be aware public, If you switch to a different provider Pulse Power will charge you $540.00 not, $125.00 as update 3/12/21. I switch because I was charged double for last month services and now, a $125.00 termination as mounted to $540.00
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Real Customers-77053 from on March 12th, 2021
A company without a heart
Yes, we were behind. But after I was released from the hospital, a covid survivor, I had a disconnection notice. I called Pulse to make a partial payment. They would not accept a partial payment (past due $356, payment to be made $280, balance due $76). This was absurd.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terese Herrin from Arlington, TX on March 2nd, 2021
Never again
Bad experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Abdelhamid El Deiri from Allen, TX on February 26th, 2021
Misleading
Signed a 3 year contract with Pulse Power. Called the company three times to verify the rate they were quoting. Totally mislead. I wish I recorded the phone call. The quoted rate is true if you use exactly 1000 kw per month. I do not like false advertisement. Will not renew or recommend a company that is deceitful to consumers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Holly from Wichita Falls, TX on February 23rd, 2021
Poor customer service
The customer service never solved a single problem
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Norma from Arlington, TX on February 1st, 2021
Bad customer service and high rates
The worst
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christian Aguilar from Houston, TX on January 25th, 2021


All Pulse Power Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Bill Credit
12 month
Bill Credit
7.1¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$127 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $116 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    7.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    7.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $110 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $113 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $113 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $108 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $110 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $110 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $114 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $116 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month