All 1 Star Reviews

28 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Southwest Power & Light Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Poor accounting practices and customer service
I pay my bill through online billing with my bank. My payment was sent and received before the due date. They called me and said it was past due the day after the due date. I called them and they said that they didn't receive it yet to check back in two days. The next day I got a notice of disconnect in 7 days! I called them back. They still have no idea where the payment is. I went ahead and paid it, so, my wife, son and I had electricity. I sent them screen shots of where money was taken from account. That wasn't good enough. The next day i got a copy of the deposited check they put into their bank. They still argued with me saying that didn't show that they received my money. WHAT ELSE COULD I GIVE THEM! Talked to three different people today to try and get my money back. The last person after saying there is nothing they can do, she did some type of inquiry, came back to the phone and said " I found it". It was deposited into someone else's account. NO "SORRY WE PUT YOU THROUGH THIS MESS" NO, "OOPS OUR FAULT". Told me to sign up for auto draft and this wouldn't happen. Tried making me feel like it was my fault. To hell with them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Houston on June 5th, 2015
Very Upset
For 18 months I had service with the company and it was fine. The entire time I was on autopay. I still show that my account is on auto pay. Back in March I cancelled service, no problem. However 2 weeks ago I noticed that my credit score dropped from 805 to 680. The reason SWPL decided to put a collection on me for a final bill. It was only 160.

I never received a past due notice, and was on and from the website am still on auto pay. I still have not heard back from the company. I paid the 160 to the collection company and they said they will send me paperwork requesting that it removed from my credit. Still haven't received!

I am very upset with the billing practices and the whole reason I was on auto pay is to ensure I never have a late payment. Which was smooth for the previous year and a half!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Last Bill Scam from Plano on September 5th, 2014
Awful service!!!!
This is the worst service I have ever encounter. They first mess up on my bill, because they mess up on the wrong disconnection apt, therefore they were charging me for something I hadn't done. Plus after calling and complaining about the 175 charge they never took care of it. Than they disconnected my light due to unpaid balance , which as of today I have no idea what that extra charge was. Than I call to change my light to our new home. They told me I had to paid 190 plus 215 of this month, which I includes late fees of charges I am unaware of as today. Customer service is at its worst too since they can never give me a explanation of all this. They have by so far made this experience horrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jackie from Mcallen on July 30th, 2014
Don't fall for their low advertised rate!!
I went with this company because they had a good rate on the Power to Choose website. Their advertised rate did not include "Total Utility Charges" that added on another $50 to my bill. I was with Summer Energy before and now regret switching. They are also charging me a $175 cancellation fee for only a 6 month contract. Customer service was also very rude, stating that I should have read all the fine print. Counting down the days until I can end my business with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sara from Round Rock on June 27th, 2014
Horrible Service
I have used Southwest Power & Light for about three years now. Every other month they arbitrarily shut off my power even though the bill has been paid and I have a conformation number. They do not open until 8:30 a.m. CST and when I call I am directed to a call center that takes their calls for them until they open. Of course they can not tell me why the power was shut off. I am then always told to contact Oncor about the issue because they claim Oncor turned off the power. Every time I call Oncor they tell me that they did no such thing. I will be using a new provider soon. I advise you DO NOT use the services provided by Southwest Power & Light.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allison Revoli from Fort Worth on June 13th, 2014
Get ready for lots of hidden fees and rude service
Do not under any circumstances fall for Southwest Power & Light's "green" tree-planting plans. The customer service is beyond horrible. When you're locked in I guess they don't feel the need to hire polite service reps. They bill you a monthly fee that isn't advertised anywhere, and when you call to complain they claim it's in some agreement I certainly never got a copy of. They charge a "printed correspondence fee" even though I repeatedly signed up for online billing. On every bill you'll see an extra $15 tacked on for no legitimate reason. Do NOT get stuck with this company. Run. It's worth paying a few cents more per kWh just to avoid dealing with their surly customer service reps and crazy add-on fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ellen from Houston on October 22nd, 2013
Horrible...worst company in texas
You get billed whenever the meter is read. you can pay a bill one day and have another bill 3 days later. I once was double billed for 1400 in one month. took months for them to reverse it, yet only took a minute for them to take it. customer service horrible and rates are higher then most of the others out there. we left them for Bounce electric and saved tons of money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Doe from Frisco on June 27th, 2013
Hidden Fees
Do not switch to this power company. Very poor customer service. They have hidden fees which makes your bill far higher. I was with Texas Power prior and really liked them - wish I had not switched.

Southwest Power and Light have a nice section of your bill Special Service Fee Charges. They charge you $30 extra just for adjusting your service date. No warnings. They are very unhelpful and cannot speak clear English.

I have switched power companies 5 times before now and this is the first time I really regretted it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Grace from Lewisville on August 27th, 2012
Won't post payment to my account
Good thing I was only in Houston for the summer. I made a payment through their website two weeks before my bill was due, got a confirmation email that day and the payment was deducted from my bank account three days later. All of a sudden they are sending emails about my over due account. When I try to find out what is going on, they are nasty and give me inconsistent info about the amount I owe. Won't even bother listening when I try to tell them that the bank sent them their money. They take your money, and don't post it to your account. Won't ever use them again if I come back to Houston.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A W from Spring on July 19th, 2012
Unhappy
I have rental properties and when I try to cancel service they always want to call
me back instead of taking care of my service immediately. Called this morning
to cancel a service on a rental property, and they told me the office had not
opened yet, they would have to call me back. The website says office opens at
8:30 I was calling at 8.50. They were eager to help me if I was signing up for
service but not for canceling service. Will not use them again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lorna Glascock from League City on March 5th, 2012


Recommended Electricity Plans