All 5 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Southwest Power & Light Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No problems, great rate.
I signed up with them almost 3 years ago after Breeze went under. I used a spreadsheet and simulated my usage over a year with many different plans, including the ones some providers use to try to appear way low on power to choose, but only if you use exactly the 1000 or 2000 KwH amounts.

I appreciate that they will bill a credit card without adding fees, which with rewards comes out to an additional 2-3% savings, and allows me another 20 days or so of flexibility as to when I am paying it.

My Energy charge has always been exactly what the said and the distribution charges from Oncor have always passed through correctly. I do wish the invoice would itemize the Oncor charges, but using current EFL data from various providers to spot check, the distribution charges are always correct
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlie from Pflugerville, TX on February 19th, 2021
Thank you for choosing Southwest Power & Light for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Southwest Power & Light
No problems.
Good price. Never had an issue with billing. Had to call once to get help with my online account. Good service. I really don't care what day they take my payment and I appreciate the discount for auto-pay.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FW from Clifton, TX on November 10th, 2020
Thank you for choosing Southwest Power & Light for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Southwest Power & Light
4 years
Been a customer about 5 years. First year had a trial plan. Had no issues. Have a 3600 sqf house, 2 units. Pool, Landscape lights; 3 car garage. Avg about $350 mo. Signed 2 back to back 24 mo plans. Find deregulation confusing, and shopping for a commodity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Walnut Hill NA, Dallas from Dallas, TX on October 12th, 2020
Thank you for review of our service and plans. Southwest Power and Light strives to provide outstanding customer care and competitive pricing to win your business year after year. We look forward to continuing to meet all of your expectations in the future.
— Southwest Power & Light
GREAT SUPPLIER
I have been with SWP&L for years and they offer the best rates. I have never had a problem with them and I recommend them all the time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ReamesC from Frisco, TX on March 31st, 2017
Pasadena, Texas
I've been using Southwest Power & Light for several years and they are very good. I'm an electrical substation designers and their electricity is as good as anyone else.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Good Company from Pasadena, TX on March 30th, 2017
They were just fine!
I don't usually have the time to write reviews. Signed up with SW P & L 2 years ago online because of a very attractive rate. I was on autopay. Every month a got a statement showing how much my account was charged. I never had a problem or needed to call for anything. I enjoyed the low rates. As far as I'm concerned it was a no brainer. No problems at all!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FG from Plano on March 6th, 2015
8 YEARS of GREAT rates and service!!!
Reading all the bad reviews is surprising! I signed up with SWPL 8 years ago and the highest my bill has EVER been for my 2 bedroom home is $180! And that is only during the summer months in HOUSTON TEXAS! Average bill is well under $100 otherwise. I am pleased with the service and any time anyone shows up trying to get me to switch, I'm told they have never heard of SWPL and then I send them on their way. The only downfall I can list is the high deposit ($390) but once you pay your bill on time for 12 consecutive months w/out a late/disconnect notice generated, they refund half of the deposit back to you! I recommend SWPL to everyone who asks me about power company options. (=
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denise Valentine from Houston on August 16th, 2014
Great
Unsure why people are having problems. Sign up for a term (you know there's a cancelation charge) and pay on time. I have used SWPL for almost 3 years and never had an issue. Saved $ hundreds (if not thousands) in that time v's TXU. Always check each year to compare there rates prior to renewing and they're great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Todd from Dallas on August 22nd, 2012
Economical and friendly
I have had Southwest Power & Light for one year and they were great. Paying my bill online was quick and efficient. If I had to call it in, they were friendly and you were able to speak to a live person fairly quickly. I would recommend. My bill was quite a bit lower than it had been in a while.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Wylie on July 29th, 2012
Electricity fact sheet
Had a question about the rate on my first bill. I had a fantastic CSR, named Samantha, that explained my rate and even adjusted my bill favorably.
She had a great "can do" attitude.
So far, so good with SouthernPL. Hopefully my next 11 months with them will exceed expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Fort Worth on July 27th, 2012


Recommended Electricity Plans