All 1 Star Reviews

183 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Stream Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Poor customer service
Called and tried to have the service transferred to my new address but was told that service was not available. I then requested to have power disconnected at the old location. unknowingly this was only a sales consultant . I was never told otherwise and considered it taken care of. Until i get a shock on my credit report for 146.00 dollars. after several attempts to get a certified customer rep I was told I never called to disconnect. I then told the rep that if I had not called how would I know they didn't offer service at my current location The only answer as I'm sorry Please be aware this company makes it hard to get the power turned off Its almost like the dish network equipment scam . were they disconnect and 3 months later bill you 500 dollars for equipment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James Marling from on June 10th, 2021
NOT WORTH IT!!
You can buy all the games you want but what they dont tell you is that you need a certain server to play some games!! THERE ARE NO REFUNDS!! and you wont find out what severs you need TILL AFTER you make a purchase!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DJ143D from 89052 on June 9th, 2021
Shady Business
I previously had service with Stream that ended in 2017, it is now May of 2021. A random bill from Stream shows up on my credit report. 4 YEARS LATER!! I call to investigate. They say that I didn't cancel my service. Oh, really? Just so happens that I have the cancellation email. Does that matter?? No, they say my account was closed for lack of payment. BS! And it's for almost double my average bill during that time. Big Businesses are nothing more than crooks. So, my email is the same as it was then, but you don't email me to say that I have an outstanding bill, instead you go to the trouble to hire the worst rated collection agency I could find online, split what you say I owe with them, instead of contacting me directly?? Then their comeback is.. we sent you a final bill to the address of service. Geniuses aren't they?? The address where "I" cancelled service. After working very hard to improve my credit score, they managed to drop my score 60 points!! 4 years later!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Damon from Houston, TX on May 17th, 2021
BAD COMPANY
How are they charging me for a week of no power during the winter storm that we had in February. I have gone back and forth with them to no help. Then he tells me that they this smart meter and if I wanted to I could go read it to see for myself. HOWWWWW! My meter box has a lock on it due to neighbors had before and so I never removed it. Ugh, I am so done with this company. I am changing them and please if anyone is reading this please choose someone else.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lynn from Round Rock, TX on May 3rd, 2021
Pathetic
Like others, all of a sudden our bill doubled. They said it was accurate. We have never had a bill almost 500.00 in the middle of summer. They said it was because we average bill. We have done that with every company in the 30 years we have lived here. NEVER had a bill this high. Be careful, they dont warn you when its time to renew and you get whatever rate hike they see fit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed from Midland, TX on March 8th, 2021
New Service Order
I was informed that because I am a disabled Senior Citizen on SSDI I could qualify for a waived deposit. I provided the information they requested, and it has been almost a month, and they are saying my account is not active because the information I provided is not what they need even though I sent what they requested of me. Stream is trying to impose a 1/2 deposit fee on me in Texas during the Texas Storm Power Outage clean-up. I do not feel Stream is operating in integrity. I was disconnected from the call, and not able to fill out my survey at the end of my call.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Kaye from Houston, TX on February 22nd, 2021
WORST COMPANY EVER!!! AVOID AT ALL COST!!!
I just got off the phone with this HORRIBLE company and its the BIGGEST SCAM EVER!!! I just moved back from OK after being gone from the state for 7 yrs and never had bills as high as I have them now. My bill for Jan was $272.00...HOWWWW???!!!! No one lives in my home except me and I work 60 HOURS/ WEEK. I signed up for weekly stats of my electricity and noticed that my daily price NEVER CHANGED....EVEN WHEN I WASNT HOME!!! I turn everything off when I leave and go to work. My tv stays off. I dont have a washer/dryer, and I turn the heating system OFF WHEN I LEAVE!!! The only thing running is what I cant turn off which is the fridge and the stove. After my bill from last month, I decided to take pictures and realized that my meter is SOMEHOW still being able to calculate 30/40 kwh for the day even when NOTHING IS ON!!! HOW IS THAT!!! The new bill came out today and it was $250.00. Now if Im turning everything off when I leave, how is it that the bill only went down $20.00? When I called in today, I was told that Im being charged a competitive rate for my area. Why is that when Im on FLAT RATE BILLING?!!!! Everytime, I asked the representative for their names and ID numbers, I got the run around. One dude transferred me because Im asked him that. Why would transfer someone and your job is to provide your name ANYWAY??!!! RED FLAGS ALL THROUGHOUT THE CONVERSATION. The lady told me that in order to get an extension for service, I had to pay $80.00 today to get an extension until Tuesday when I got paid after 5 pm. When I asked to be transferred to a supervisor, he said $8.52 to get an extension until Tuesday. RED FLAG!!!! When they turn your service off, its an automatic $50.00 to your bill. They are also turning my lights off in the cold weather. Its going to be in the negative here in Texas Monday night...I will be in the dark by noon on Tuesday if I cant pay my bill and I dont get paid until after 5pm. This is the worst company ever. You know people scamming when you cant get simple information such as their names and IDs to verify their information. If I want my meter read, its my RESPONSIBILTY to call ONCOR MYSELF, yet STREAM EBNERGY SAID THAT IT WOULD BE A $60 TO $100 CHARGE IF THEY COME OUT!!! How in the hell you gone charge me for something that I HAVE TO DO MYSELF???!!! I hope that this company goes out of business, but hey wont. All these electric companies and energy sources are in it together. This is ridiculous and for a single person like me thats having to pay a competitve rate when I dont have a FULL FAMILY IN MY HOME LIKE OTHERS is baffling to me. Why did I sign up for a flat rate then. I hope that Ill be able to sue for turnign my lights off in inclement weather...Screw this Company!!! I hope my review STOPS PEOPLE FROM GETTING THEM!!! Single people with no children DONT GET ANY BREAKS. Im paying for other peoples household with that competitive rate bs...NOT COOL AT ALL...I signed up for a FLAT RATE!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NICOLE COX from Fort Worth, TX on February 13th, 2021
HORRIBLE ELECTRCITY COMPANY
I'm new to Texas and cut the electricity on in 22 September and I did the option to where I pay the $200 deposit in 3 payments along with the bill ( the provided that option due to being in the military). A week later I received an email stating I asked for my service to be cut off, and they sent me a bill of $200 and over. I called and spoke to several manager and they assured me it will be corrected. I asked how much would my bill be and they could never tell me. They never called me and updated me on anything and I had a $400 bill to pay in December. Now in 22 January my bill is $230 with late fees and everything, in which I paid the other balance in full already. The company is a rip off and I will be disconnecting my service with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

STREAM ELECTRICITY from Killeen, TX on January 22nd, 2021
Collections??
We cancelled our service and paid our final bill on the phone with customer service. Several months later, our account went to collections claiming we owe them money. Our account has said we owe $0 since we cancelled. Where did this charge come from? NEVER USE STREAM. THEY'LL DESTROY YOUR CREDIT WITHOUT ANY WARNING.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry Customer from Corpus Christi, TX on January 4th, 2021
California to Texas mover
I had no idea how to choose an energy company this one was reccomended. Paying like 15 cents plus additional TPU charges. My bill has been 2X higher. They offer me a renewal at 10.2 cents but still higher than what the current low is for what I'm using which is like 8.8 with no hidden fees. Not the lowest out there. Using the advertised energy finders are all money makers. Finally I clicked on a link from my local city that sent me called power to choose. Free at last.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CAtoTXMover from Grand Prairie, TX on December 17th, 2020


Recommended Electricity Plans