All 2 Star Reviews

29 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Stream Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Used to be good,, horrible now
I have had stream since 2008 and have been very satisfied but within the last 3-4 years the customer service has become so frustratingly awfully. I feel dirty when I get off the phone with them. like they're going to do what they want and there's nothing u can do about it. I am going to leave this company. I have never had an issue paying my bill. Sometimes their system would be glich-y when they were new, I was patient. Now if their system goofs and they call me and ask me to submit payment again, a non refundable non payment fee is added to the next bill and no one wants to look into it.!!! they are saying I have a better rate than last year so even with the extra fee my bill is still reasonable so I have no reason to complain????!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alystee from Euless on October 14th, 2016
Billing
I have been with Stream Energy for 6 years, never having any problems with my bills being payed by computer banking. Well, a hell broke loose when I payed a bill for a months service and was as usual billed for the next months service. I never anticipated any issues with the next bill until I noticed that the previous months charges were put onto the new months bill. When I called customer service, I first was confronted with individuals that lack proper communication skills. It was very difficult to understand the representatives but after repeating my story to the person, all I could get was that I did not pay the previous months bill and it was added onto the next months billing cycle. I tried repeatedly to explain, without success that I payed the bill twice but I could not get through to this person because he relied on what was in front of him on their computer. My attempts to settle this issue started on July 24, 2015 and continued on till this day, Sept.29, 2015. I made 6 attempts to settle this problem but each time it was having to explain to each and everyone the entire story of what happened about the bill. Each time it was difficult communicating with their representatives. I finally turned this issue over the our Public Service Commission only to have one of the representative from their corporate office call and pretty much put the entire problem onto me. While attempting to explain the issue, I was accused of being hostile, uncooperative and all of this incident was going to be reported back to the Public Service Commission. I was so angered by the disrespect exhibit towards me that I had to report the incident to the PSC. Along with their representatives lacking proper communication skills, their corporate personal lack customer service skills. I would warn people that in the event there is an issue with anything about your service, be prepared to get frustrated having to repeat yourself to people on the other end of the phone who don't understand you. Being disabled and on a fixed income, the small amount in question is important to me. The monies could go to my medications. I know thats not a concern with these people but after faxing my proof of my payment, one can see why I am so angry and frustrated with these people. With proof in their hands, they are not doing a thing to resolve this issue. I am so disappointed by the way I have been treated. Six years of service but now I see its time to seek other services. Take heed, pay your bills with a check so one has a paper trail. Stream Energy will not accept proof of payment from your computer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alexander Ramos from Augusta on September 29th, 2015
Dont switch to stream energy . its not worth it
I was convinced by a friend to switch , " it will help me out and you will save Money !"
So I switched .... First bill came at $ 35 . i paid it 5 days early and it took them untill after the due date to prcess it ! then they had the you know whats to charge me 2.95 to pay it over the phone. i made a 1 year contract mistake . I hope you dont make the same ! P.S. In 25 years Ive never been late with TXU now the first payment is late with these idiots ...and they would'nt even note the account for me , please dont switch to them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Cambora from Fort Worth on April 30th, 2014
You get ripped if you quit
DO NOT USE STREAM ENERGY.
I changed providers because Stream was billing over 14 cents per KWH. We had sent in our previous bill but it had not shown up at Stream yet. We quit in between billing cycles but Stream immediately mailed out the final bill, which looked like it included the previous bill which had not arrived. We go another bill in the mail which was evidently not including the previous bill and was way over what we would normally pay. Our normal payment from them was about $200 a month. The final billing was about $350 for just 15 days of service. These people suck when it comes to keeping up with billing. They said it would go to a collection agency if we didn't pay this remainder even though we did make a payment during that last cycle. This company sucks.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from Pasadena on October 25th, 2013
Horrible Customer Service
Cheap service but horrible customer service. They don't have any direct lines so you speak to someone different every time. They do not send confirmation emails to ensure your problem is getting fixed which makes you have to call and follow up with several different people. They explain that they will notate your account so other representatives will understand your issue and they do not. I had my electricity out for two days because they processed my transfer of services way too early. For about a week I was told the situation would be handled, I had to call them four times. Changing to a different provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amy from Houston on March 27th, 2013
DO NOT USE THEM EVER!!!!
STREAM SCREWS the CONSUMER! With BOGUS billings that prey on the fact that people don't keep detailed records after a few years. Then they claim PAID COLLECTIONS never GOT PAID. I got you this time mofo's! No money orders this time - I have bank statements!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CH from Dallas on December 12th, 2012
Nice of them to take my money and not provide service!!!
I pay all my bills at the same time. I had thought I paid the electric bill. I didn't get a second notice or anything but I got my power turned off. I have a smart meter so it's done quickly. I electronically sent payment. I was on the phone with them to keep asking when they could give the okay to the energy provider to turn service back on. Kept saying it would take a couple hours. Next day, I still did not have power. I got a proof of payment from my bank to see when they received the funds. They received my money the same day it was disconnected. I called customer service and then they said it would take 5 to 7 days to proccess the payment. I couldn't understand since it was in their hands electronically. Since they had my payment, why could they not turn my power on in this modern age of information technology?

Well they said they understood 5 to 7 days is a long time to go without power and said next time pay by phone instead of electronically. I said there will not be a next time and I jumped ship. I called TXU and got power less than two hours. Month later and just now they are hitting me up with an early cancellation charge of 250. I talked to a manager and he said I broke the contract for not paying for consumed service. I told him I was paid up in full and had proof and they broke the contract by not providing service. I'm going to see if I can fight them on the charge once I get the contract reviewed by the lawer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Richard from Houston on November 2nd, 2012
Company won't survive with this customer service
I currently have 3 stream electric accounts and
have done
business with for years. I am in the
investment business of
buying and selling homes, constantly needing
service turned on and
off. Getting new service with these guys is
the most painful
call I make. It always starts with a rep who
can't speak or communicate the English language
or read number back to you? After 30 minutes
of torture they tell me I have to pay a $250.00
deposit. I then ask to talk to a supervisor
and he says it's a new policy everyone pays a
$250 deposit for new service. What a shame....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr Sanders from Dallas on March 29th, 2012
Unwilling to help
They have been an overall good place, but when it comes down to needing help they will help but only 4 times a year. then after that u must pay in full, they do not take into consideration, if u even pay 95 % of the bill (not pasted due)they will still cut u off. Great price but not so helpful when comes down the helping u keep your lights on! :/
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jessica from on September 1st, 2011
Bad Customer and Billing Experience
This company has the worst customer service i have ever delt with. The agents are rude and there are no supervisors to help someone out. The only answer from the staff, that does not speak english very well is "am sorry I could not make you happy today." Very frustrating. Good luck if you use them , all they care about is the extra charges.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Damon Burlison from Dallas on December 3rd, 2010


Recommended Electricity Plans