Reviews Overview
The best review categories for TXU Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.5 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.4 of 5.
5 Stars
3%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
3%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
82%
 

Recent Good Review from LiLi S

Great Customer Service Representation by Carolina C
I recently inquired about new service with Customer Service Rep - Carolina C. Although I didn't choose this company, I felt that she should get recognition for being so thorough by calling me back twice because I couldn't finish our conversation the first call. She was so pleasant and understanding!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LiLi S from 70521 on February 25th, 2021


Our Analysis of TXU Energy

Community Outreach
5.2 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
5.1 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
4.1 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
4.1 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Complaint Resolution
2.6 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.5 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

17 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
We had power through bad times
Been with TXU for over 10 years! We had power through this past winter storm disaster. We Always get a rebate check at end of year! We have always been on their flat rate program, which makes budgeting easier! Make the choices that will help you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bweave from Spring, TX on February 21st, 2021
Great customer service rep.
I have called TXU numerous times and always get stuck talking to someone who talks so fast and makes me feel stupid. I get frustrated and end up hanging up! This evening I called and spoke with Walter and he was phenomenal!! He was so patient and walked me through everything step by step! Thank you Walter for your kindness
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Heather G. from Whitewright, TX on May 26th, 2020
TXU Energy
I would recommend TXU to anyone looking for a reliable electric company. I have a reasonably priced bill, and they are active in preventing any issues that may come up from escalating.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RAC from Waco, TX on March 5th, 2020
Texas energy
Nikki was extremely helpful and friendly when I had questions about my bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shannon from Houston, TX on July 18th, 2019
His name is Irwin!
I had the opportunity to speak with a supervisor named Irwin ( not sure if spelling is correct). He made me feel valued, despite my reason for the call. He continually went above and beyond what I expected. He is truly some one who cares and I'm grateful for his genuine help that while some think maybe small, his proactive and efficiency left an everlasting imprint of gratitude. Irwin assured me that we were taken cared of. Thank YOU Irwin
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wanza from Arlington, TX on July 8th, 2019
Free nights
The free nights is a nice program. It'll be better if the nights started at 7pm instead of 9pm. My only issue is with the centrepoint fee which seems to double my electricity bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kay from Houston, TX on February 10th, 2019
SATISFIED
I just switched from Direct Energy to TXU Energy after a year of bad service from Direct Energy... just got off the phone with a wonderful customer representative,it was easy he gave best deal. Considering i was thinking of switching, glad i called instead. Very satisfied, wish i called last month i would've saved a ton of money. Let's see how it goes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MONICA from Houston, TX on August 25th, 2017
Monica - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thanks for sharing your positive experience.
— TXU Energy
TXU Saved me from CIRRO energy nightmare.
I was a customer when it was TU electric. I had never had any reason to change when Cirro had a rep going door to door. Who doesn't want to save money. Well it has been a nightmare that a courtesy call from TXU bailed me out of. We got one of my two meters changed but couldn't get my barn meter changed. TXU called to see what they could do to get my business back. They reduced the rate Cirro gave by 2.4 cents per kWh gave me a $50 gift card and it only took 10 minutes. Thankfully they have ended a nightmare for me. I will remain a loyal customer. When you want to shop rates. Check the out but call your carrier first. They most likely will match or beat the rate. Saves a lot of hassles.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dianna E. from Slidell, TX on July 18th, 2017
Best Savings in Texas
The below link will credit you $50 on your first bill with TXU! Great Company, Excellent Customer Service, and the BEST rates I've been able to find. I wish I had switched to TXU earlier and I would have saved a lot of money!

http://www.urefer.com/referral/1878/3495747/s/11
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from on December 16th, 2016
Easy transition
Just got off the phone with a wonderful customer representative,it was easy she gave best deal. Considering i was thinking of switching, glad i called instead. Very satisfied, wish i called last month i would've saved a ton of money. Been a customer 20 years now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Willie (Ghost) Lopez from Fort Worth on December 15th, 2014


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

23 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great Customer Service Representation by Carolina C
I recently inquired about new service with Customer Service Rep - Carolina C. Although I didn't choose this company, I felt that she should get recognition for being so thorough by calling me back twice because I couldn't finish our conversation the first call. She was so pleasant and understanding!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LiLi S from 70521 on February 25th, 2021
Good service
I love that my lights are free after 8
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Qemiya from Wills Point, TX on December 1st, 2018
Customer for over 5 years
I originally came to this website to read reviews about potential companies, because I was looking to lower my bill. I was really shocked with all the negative reviews because I've had an overall good experience with TXU. I've been with the company for over 5 years and I'm only looking to switch, because my bill seems to have increased quite a bit over the years. I noticed that before I was paying a much lower price whereas now my bill stays over 100+ a month even when I'm not using it as much. I think it's just one of those situation where I may need to switch, since most companies give new customers the better rate to win their business, but then forget to reward their loyal customers with those rates to keep their business. However, rate increases and all, TXU has been great and I really hate that I have to switch just to get a lower rate since I'll be a new customer, when I would rather just stay with TXU and be a loyal customer. I would definitely recommend TXU to someone!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MrsWoods from Houston on December 9th, 2016
10+ years as satisfied customer
I've been a steady customer of TXU for 10+ years. When I moved my service a few years ago, I used their website and live chat to pick the best plan and make the move. I have always had great results with customer service when I needed them and the service has always been reliable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Put_zel from Hamilton on April 19th, 2016
We appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for trusting TXU Energy to power the special moments in your home.
— TXU Energy
Enter Promo Code 34334489 for $50 from TXU energy at www.txu.com/friend
I'm currently a new customer to TXU, I haven't had any problems with the electricity company and my bills have been under $100. I live in a 800sqft apartment with my wife, we usually use a good amount of electricity and also never turn off the AC. I would recommend this company to a friend!


The promotional code is entered at www.txu.com/friend when you sign up with TXU.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B from Corpus Christi on February 8th, 2016
B - Welcome to TXU Energy! Thank you for trusting us to power the special moments in your home.
— TXU Energy
TXU
I love Txu I do not see how people say they have a monthly bill of 200 in an apartment. My bill never goes over 70 and I stay with heat or electricity on. I don't really understand the TDU charge seems high but overall I'm happy with my bill. When I called in to renew my plan I did have a little trouble (language barrier) I could not understand everything he was saying and he couldn't understand some words I was saying but we got through it.... If I could change something about TXU it would definitely be to lower what ever that TDU charge is and if you forget to renew before deline they throw you on the most expensive plan.... Overall Satisfied and would recommend to others
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chikyra from Arlington on December 30th, 2015
We appreciate your business Chikyra. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
— TXU Energy
Great Experience with TXU
I have been a customer for TXU and had the best experiences. The bills were always accurate, topped with the discounts based on usage. The energy dashboard on their website is so useful and lets you know your usage and control you electricity costs. And when I had to disconnect my service because I was moving out of TX, they were so friendly and co-operative and modestly explained the next steps.
Thank you TXU.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Krishna from Houston on October 20th, 2014
Krishna We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear our energy dashboard has been a helpful resource for you. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
— TXU Energy
Pricey, but Good Service
I have been a TXU customer for 10 years (2 years in an apartment and 8 years in a house). I have had absolutely no issues ever with TXU in their customer service, billing or overall service. It is energy plan renewal time for me right now, and I'm doing my research to compare TXU to other companies. While I am tempted to switch to another company based on price, I am reluctant to leave a company that has been quite satisfactory over the years. It saddened me to see all the negative reviews regarding TXU, which prompted me to share my own positive experiences with TXU. It seems that most negative reviews are based on misunderstanding of how billing works - a consumer must consider delivery fees, base fees if minimum usage is not achieved, etc. TXU's customer service has been quite pleasing. I don't have the need to call very often, but I always speak to friendly, helpful associates when I do call. I even remember sending a complimentary e-mail a year ago to recognize an especially helpful associate when renewing into my current energy plan. TXU has been a great company for me, and I would absolutely not think twice about renewing my energy plan with them if their prices were slightly lower.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brad from Cedar Hill on July 8th, 2014
Brad Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with us. We recognize its a highly competitive market out there, and were proud to be the leading provider. Please consider emailing your contact information to SocialMedia@txu.com and we will be more than happy to assist you with renewing your service plan. We value your business and look forward to hearing from you.
— TXU Energy
What's with all the negative reviews?
Before switching to TXU Free Nights, our monthly bills were in the 400 range. After we agreed to switch to TXU Free Nighs and our bill drop to 110 for that month. And it stayed in the 100 range for almost 6 months now. Customer was very generous and informed us of the increase in kwh, cancelation fee, and everything we needed to know about the plan before agreeing to make this change. I'm happy with what I'm paying for and using free electricity is amazing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cuong from Houston on November 24th, 2013
OK Service
Would recommend TXU to anyone. Very professional and their weekly usage report is a big help
in understanding my use profile and the ultimate billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gerald Reynolds from Pantego on June 21st, 2013


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

18 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No class when leaving TXU
I selected another provider when my contract ran out through power to choose that was 20%- 25% cheaper. For the three days it took to convert to the other provider, TXU raised my rate by almost 50%. Classless. Lost a potential future customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeff Jarabek from Allen, TX on June 12th, 2020
Billed for disconnect notices?
My bill has been a low $170 all summer and I got a bill in January for $243???? I spoke with customer service and ask why was the bill so high. I am on free nights. I was told that I was charged an additional fee because they sent a disconnect notice?? This is a joke! I can understand charging for an actual disconnect, even though, all they have to do is hit one key on their computer terminal to reconnect but why charge for sending me a notice? And why change $50-$60 ??
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michele from Pearland on January 19th, 2017
Your opinion matters to us. Please email TXUECares@txu.com so we can help.
— TXU Energy
Price Plans
Good service no problems with billing or customer service ,BUT they will not offer me the same contract they offer a new customer even if I have been with TXU for over 34 years now that is not right .There are lots of power vendors with better rates and great reviews for customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eddy from Fort Worth on June 29th, 2016
Eddy - We apologize for the inconvenience and we're here to help. Please email your account and contact info to TXUECares@txu.com and we will contact you right away.
— TXU Energy
Decent
I've been using TXU for almost 3 years now and my only major complaint is that their website is very slow at times.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Waco on May 25th, 2016
Michael - We apologize for the inconvenience and will work to get this issue resolved. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you for choosing TXU Energy!
— TXU Energy
TXU Free Nights Program Canceled
I made a complaint on this web site back in November 2013 about TXU Energy Free Nights program. I am a solar customer providing energy to the grid in daylight hours. I was being charged for both the energy I consumed in the daylight hours and the energy I delivered back to the grid. I could not get satisfaction from TXU so I complained to the PUC. I sent smartmetertexas.com data to illustrate my issue to the PUC. Smartmetertexas.com data is the actual TDU data from all Texas residents with smart meters. TXU has corrected my bills finally effective 12/24/13. Merry Christmas to me! Interestingly enough the Free Nights program has been canceled as of today 1/8/2014.I suspect I had something to do with that. I think there was something very wrong with the billing on the Free Nights program. Anyway, I analyzed my own data, won my case, and would love to analyze yours too! Contact me at lucihundley@yahoo.com if you would like me to analyze your data for you. TXU will correct it if you have been improperly billed. But you must have data. If you don't know how to get it and analyze it I can do it for you "Feeling" like your bill is too high is not good enough. Data is needed! And I can get it for you! TXU is NOT using TDU data to bill you for Free Nights. They are using algorithms and percentages. But the Electricity Facts Label says they will use the ACTUAL TDU data. You will win your case if you send TXU the real data. And I can get it for you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Luci Hundley from Rockwall on January 8th, 2014
Luci- Our Right Time SavingsSM plans (i.e. TXU Energy Free Nights and TXU Energy Free Weekends) are intended to help customers manage how they use electricity and save. Usage data is received in 15 minute intervals from your meter, which is maintained by your Transmission and Distribution Utility. Although these meters are more than 99% accurate, we also refer customers questioning their consumption to smartmetertexas.com as a non-biased comparison. Our TXU Energy Free Nights plan is still available for customers who wish to enroll and feel that they can benefit from the savings offered with this plan.
— TXU Energy
Residence
Overall, satisfied with service, but unable to get answers to questions about promotions, get referred to website, which did not mention the particular promotion I was asking about
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony Diotalevi from Friendswood on August 30th, 2012
Good service and access but too expensive
After 2 years on the TXU Choice 24 plan I am choosing to reduce my costs. TXU does return to the community and that is admirable. Sorry they haven't made it more affordable to keep my business. Farewell.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Bedford on April 11th, 2012
THE VERIZON OF ENERGY
It's my belief that TXU is the Verizon of energy rates. This company does
not really care about giving you the best rate and they will not do anything
to keep you until you cancel and then they call you asking why you left.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary from Euless on March 20th, 2012
For the rich.
If you want electricity for the rich go with TXU. Yes they are great at
mailing me a bill and cashing my checks. But it is 12.8 cents per kWh for
5394 of them. I am switching. By the way, my plan was called TXU Energy
PriceGuarantee 24. The only guarantee I received was to get ripped off for
24 months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dwayne from Grapevine on September 25th, 2011
Get What You Pay For
I have been with TXU for over 30 years and have paid premium pricing for the privelege. I have always gotten excellent customer service and have always been able to get them at any time I needed to. Since I was one of the first 100 to sign up for automated online billing in the mid 90s - I have never had billing issues. 12 months ago I was finally forced to choose a plan and face the amount I have been paying for my electricity. UGH! yes, it is great service and you do get what you pay for - I pay one of the highest rates (their lowest rate is my selected 10.4 cents a kilowatt hour) and have no issues. I am unhappy that I am not rewarded for loyalty or get any of the other benefits that switching around gives you. $150 gift cards, $25 off your bill, NOTHING HERE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ehlmann from Azle on July 11th, 2011


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

52 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Make pretty promises to get you to sign up but will screw you over once the contract is over...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

An Unsatisfied Customer from Dallas, TX on February 28th, 2021
20 yr customer
Folks I want to share how being lazy has cost me money, always put off shopping energy providers until I had another $600.00 electric bill (extra usage) due to my mother-in-law living her last days out with us (4 months, only thing I can justify a large bill with, and really nothing changed). I finally listened to my nephew and connected with Energy Ogre, I've had 2 full months with them and my bills have been $130.00 and $126.00, which just makes me sick for not looking into this sooner. A TXU Rep called to see what it would take to win us back and once I said we were now with Energy Ogre she said Thank You very much and hung up. SHOP ENERGY OGRE. I believe in Capitalism and I assure you TXU is capitalizing off the lazy folks like me. Shame on me for not looking into this years ago.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sammy Valderas from Midlothian, TX on February 22nd, 2021
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, MULTIPLE OUTAGES
If you call customer service when there is a power outage, expect to be talked to condescendingly then put on hold until you finally decide to hang up.
Weve had TXU for almost six months now and have lost power at least four times for multiple hours at a time.
Locked into a 12 month contract but as soon as that is up, were ditching this company for somewhere else.
In a state where customers can CHOOSE their electricity company, youd think they would actually care about how they treat their customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Holly from Melissa, TX on February 14th, 2021
Its a Trap!
The service was honestly fine when I was using it. However, I called and informed them I was going to be moving and instead of scheduling the service to be disconnected and the "Going to be Disconnected" issue on the website they kept my service going stating I specifically had to call and have the service disconnected! Be careful and look at more places! This one is just a trap in the end waiting to scam you out of as much money as they can get! Not to mention their customer service sounded like they were in India and I could only understand half of what was being said! Would not recommend!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Caleb from Dallas, TX on November 7th, 2020
Was calling to renew my Plan
Called in to renew my TXU Plan because my current plan was expiring 12/2/2020.. Spoke with customer service rep at 5:38pm. He told me about the Precise Saver 24 Plan. But I was trying to see the difference between the plan I have now and the Plan he was speaking of. The customer service rep was acting as if I was getting on his nerves with my questions, like he did not want to be bothered with me. I found myself telling him if I am cannot ask you questions let me know and I will hang up, call back and speak to someone else. By this time I had no interest in what he was talking about, over it literally. Been with TXU for 2 years, and this is ridiculous.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Upset Customer from The Colony, TX on November 2nd, 2020
TXU is inconsistent.
I have to call them every month. They give me the run around. The app is poor and inconsistent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TXU....why? from Arlington, TX on June 22nd, 2020
A question about my reward for refer a friend about me and about the other person
My experience was suck, i am so mad the 9 people talked to me do not know anything so why you hire people like these, everybody transfer me to somebody else.... stay on the phone for nothing simple question to know about refer a friend...that is all
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maha Bundy from Houston, TX on May 14th, 2020
Too expensive
Simply put TXU is very expensive! My very first bill with TXU was over$500.00 the next over $600.00 . New appliances, air conditioner is on 78 when home and 80 when not at home ......bill is still expensive! My husband think that our bill is based on what they think we are using and not actual usage. Our home is 1,500 square feet. I can not recommend TXU Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jo from Missouri City, TX on August 18th, 2019
The guys went above and beyond!
First of all I have to say this was one of the worst experiences ever. I would also like to add that these two gentlemen Rocky Rayos and Cosme Ortega out of Midland Texas went above and beyond for me trying to fix what happened to my electricity and why it took 3 days to get it back on after a mess up from the company. No offense due only to the fact these gentlemen were genuinely concerned and worked diligently to help me in figuring out what was going on and why. In my opinion the customer service was fantastic. The organization and something with dispatching is way off. Me and my two young boys went almost three days without electricity that was suddenly shut off three weeks after starting service. This was due to the wrong meter number as well as the wrong address. If these guys didnt care so much this review would not be good it would be horrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tish Pullen from Midland, TX on July 13th, 2019
Bad Customer Service
Said I needed a 50% down payment in order to get an extension lol. Ive never had a disconnection or got an extension in the past and Ive been with them for a year and a half now. I can say that my light bill is cheaper than when I had Direct Energy but their customer service isnt the best. Molena Orellan, a manager, gladly declined my request after I told her what my situation was. I just think they could be a little more understanding is all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JC1993 from Houston, TX on July 9th, 2019


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

496 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Thieves and liars
They have been ripping me off for years. Worst company I have ever dealt with. DO NOT USE TXU
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Zero Stars from Taylor, TX on April 30th, 2021
Low Usage, look for other options
Was getting outrageously high bills and high "delivery charges" tacked on as well. Found another provider that catered to low usage much better and cut my bill in half!! New provider total bill is almost as low as "delivery charges" from TXU? what is going on? Stay away.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Apartment Guy from Houston, TX on April 27th, 2021
Bad Company
I dont know if anyone really reads these are not but I wouldnt go with TXU. They will lie to you about your bill, they will make your bill higher every month and when you do decide to quit using them they will harass you every single week at least 2 or 3 times a week before the final bill is due. They started harrassing me before I got my final bill in the mail, it was only a day after I switched that they started harrassing me. They are rude and unprofessional. I wouldnt use this company ever again. They are already having bankruptcies and lawsuits. They truly are the worst company ever and I wish that I would have known that when my husband and I moved to this area. Listen well learned!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lynn from Diboll, TX on April 24th, 2021
Horrible Customer Service
I spoke to an agent who told me they would disconnect my electric on Dec 15th when I was moving. So, I moved to my new apartment and continued to use TXU there thinking it was off at my old address. Come to find out the agent never had it taken out of my name at the old apartment. Now, TXU will not take off the charges from their own mistake. absolutely, ridiculous horrible service and how they treat their customers. Ever representative will tell you something different.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chase Huckeby from Fort Worth, TX on March 31st, 2021
High price & bad customer service
If u want recive bump bill..take it TXU energy.. crazy bill we live home along just stay 7pm to 6am .. but every month pay over $250.. think have a hidden price.. bad experience.. & bad customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TXU Energy Poor Company from Dallas, TX on March 20th, 2021
Account credit
I received horrible customer service when asked about credit for the time I was without service during the storm and was advise to call encore for the credit I even had a supervisor show no empathy or concern and did nothing to assist me with my concern
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kp from Plano, TX on March 14th, 2021
A society to be avoided.
I can't write everything that I would like so much my experience is bad with them.
I will could write a roman.
Problm with the deposit refund, surcharge bill amount for nothing, wrong information meter, poor contacte with them and completely inconsistent answers about my asks.
Run aways.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gilles from Irving, TX on March 14th, 2021
Misleading, Dishonest & Disloyal!!
I have been a TXU customer for an estimate of six years and don't plan to make it seven. I opened my TXU invoice for February on January 28, 2021 and after seeing the amount of
$544.65, usage of 3315 kw, I knew this was a mistake. I called TXU thinking the amount would get
adjusted immediately, instead, their apologies were turning into excuses, realizing customerbloyalty didnt matter. Centerpoint came out the following morning, not my request, turned off my electricity for a meter
test without any notice. I am on time with payments, so I knew that wasnt
the reason, so I immediately went to the meter, where I asked Centerpoint
representative why he turned off my electricity? He replied , he was doing a meter test, requested by TXU. After our conversation, I learned he had installed a new smart meter on September 20, 2020, the same date I transferred to this apartment. I confirmed the installment date with three TXU customer representative, two supervisors and a senior manager. I was told the smart meter is working correctly and I would have to pay the due amount, $544.65. This amount was double from All my past monthly invoices and the same after comparing current neighbors usage, with same floor plan.
I spent several hours on my TXU account dashboard, where customers are told the information is efficient, able to track real time usage, showing an estimate during billing period and an actual at the end of billing period. I manually added all daily usage/cost for billing days and the total was half of what was showing on statement. TXU Supervisor & Manager confirmed the mistake, only to tell me they had to open a new investigation ticket with
Centerpoint. I stated several times, I am a TXU customer, not a Centerpoint customer, and why do I have to wait on what they decide about my TXU account, when TXU is their customer, not mine.
After my research, I found misleading information on several past invoices, needing answers to my questions, only to receive dishonest answers. Old Meter ID 9227319 was replaced by New Meter ID 88305995 on
my move in date,September 20, 2021, the date my start of bill cycle, ending October 20, 2020. Instead, my Original invoice for this period shows an Actual Read from old meter. My December original invoicel shows old meter ID with estimated reading. My January 2021 original invoice is the first invoice showing
new smart meter ID, along with bill corrections for Dec, Nov, two for Oct(all 2020), showing Actual Readings from new meter and new charges. TXU, states on "my
account dashboard", your monthly bill provides your official usage as
determined by your local transmission and distribution utility. I paid my original monthly invoice for October, old apartment that I transfer from, different
meter and three days at new apartment, of which I had not moved in yet. November, December
2020 invoices were changed, showing on my January 2021 invoice, with new actual readings, changing the meter information. I paid $300. on February's invoice, waiting
for Centerpoint to complete their investigation. I recently received March 2021 invoice, showing new
corrections, for February, along with new Actual readings for all past invoices at new address, Oct, Nov, Dec 2020,( third time on changes) Jan(second time on changes) & Feb. 2021(moved the amount difference to previous months in 2020. After many hours reviewing the invoices,
phone conversations with TXU representatives and consumer support representatives, I am
upset and will Not allow TXU to bully a loyal customer, especially when TXU is not following their own policies, taking advantage of loyal customers by giving the choices, 1) pay the amount they are demanding or 2) No electricity. I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau(BBB) & Public Utility Commission(PUC), both have opened investigations. TXU needs to take responsibility for their
misleading, dishonest and bad service actions. I paid All of the Original invoices and as a loyal
customer, l deserve better than what is occurring.
I have all original invoices, showing the changes and other documents pertaining to this matter and I should not be dealing with TXU's mistakes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lonnie Allsbrooks from Kingwood, TX on March 9th, 2021
Not at all transparent in Billing
They have too many extra charges, so be careful before you choose. I will never recommend it anybody.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

H. M. from Irving, TX on February 25th, 2021
Do not go with this company
At first everything was ok with this particular company TXU. Gradually it became worse and my bill became more expensive month after month. Please take my advice and run the other way this company will gouge you and give you the run around when you ask them about your bill. Would never wish the trouble Ive went through with them on anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven P. from Venus, TX on February 25th, 2021


All TXU Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
9.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$103 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $113 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $108 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    Best 'No Contract' Plan
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill