Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Veteran Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.3 of 5.
5 Stars
23%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
4%
 
1 Stars
67%
 

Recent Good Review from FrankM

Time to Renew my Veteran Energy Service
You can't beat the great customer service and outstanding price plans. They are by far the best energy provider I've ever had...which covers over 40 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FrankM from Round Rock, TX on May 4th, 2021


Our Analysis of Veteran Energy

Community Outreach
4.7 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
4.1 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Complaint Resolution
3.8 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
3.3 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Rewards
2.8 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Market Perception
2.4 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Time to Renew my Veteran Energy Service
You can't beat the great customer service and outstanding price plans. They are by far the best energy provider I've ever had...which covers over 40 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FrankM from Round Rock, TX on May 4th, 2021
Why choose an electric company
I made this choice primarily on the idea that they give a little bit back. I have had nothing but great online and phone support the 3 or 4 times I have needed them. Rate wise they are on par & best of all, I got to choose this provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sterling G Leavitt from Round Rock, TX on April 6th, 2021
Excelent customer service
Every time that i have a questions regarding my invoice or new plans, their customer service has been there for all my questions
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Best Customer Service from Sugar Land, TX on March 31st, 2021
Happy customer
I've had nothing but pleasant experiences with their services. Prices are cheaper than most out there! Great customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harmony Hill Resident from Rowlett, TX on September 1st, 2020
The Best Electric Co
Veterans Energy has been so good to me. Great rates and even better customer service. Need an extension? Dont worry! As long as you keep your promises you can get them. No other light company has ever been as kind. Charlie and co yall are the best!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josie G. from Jacksonville, TX on July 23rd, 2019
Excellent all around
I just renewed my service contract with Veteran Energy. I shopped around a bit but didn't really want to leave Veteran as they have been excellent from the time I signed up a couple of years ago. Today I spoke with Dustin in Customer Care and he helped me come up with the best renewal plan considering the history of my usage. He was excellent!
I've had zero complaints about the company and can't really understand ratings less than (near-) perfect. I love their weekly usage emails. It allows me to see graphically what my usage habits are and make adjustments if I need to. I also like the fact that they give back to Veterans groups. Very satisfied!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cool Tex from Dallas, TX on August 16th, 2018
No Solar System Program
I like Veterans Energy much more than TXU or Reliant. Unfortunately I may have to leave Veterans Energy.

I am currently seeking proposals for installation of solar panels that will provide enough Kwh to meet my current average monthly consumption on an annual basis. The keyword being average, meaning that there would be months that I may consume more Kwh, and some months that I would consume less.

I was greatly disappointed to learn that Veterans Energy does not provide an energy buy-back or a refund Kwh billing credit for (unused) energy created by solar systems that feeds back into the grid. This is also as much surprising as disappointing because Texas is a solar friendly state and most other electric providers do offer some type of program many of them dollar-for-dollar offsets.

I doubt that they could get a program up and running before I proceed with my installation plans (within the next couple of months). That will leave me with a regretful decision of having to ultimately cancel service upon completion of the solar system installation, paying a cancellation fee, and having to seek a provider that does offer a compensation program. But most regretfully I will no longer be their customer and a part of helping veterans.

If anyone from Veterans Energy is reading this, please let me know if you can do something. Veterans Energy a great company and I would really prefer to stay with you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jesmith3 from Killeen, TX on May 7th, 2018
Easy and reasonable
Easy to enroll online, payments were easy to make, no issues with set up, billing and cancellation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KETEX from Houston, TX on October 30th, 2017
Easy to work with
I've been with Veteran Energy for about 7 months now and their pricing kills what I was paying before. Everything was so easily automated to set up and bill/draft - I did it all online quickly and didn't have to call anyone. I'll check the emailed invoice each month to make sure there are no red flags or extra charges and so far things have been perfect. Since I have never had an issue with the actual service or billing I haven't had to deal with their customer service so I can't comment on how that is.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kara T from Fort Worth, TX on February 13th, 2017
My First Monthly Bill from Veteran Energy

I was anxious to get my first bill from Veteran Energy because it seems that every electricity provider is somewhat different in how the monthly billing statement is presented. I've found most utility bills to be pretty confusing. It seems there are always at least some surprises in the beginning until you figure out all the line items which comprise your total charges.

In other words, it's often hard to fully understand what you signed up for until you've already signed up.

Not so with Veteran Energy.

I happened to use about 1,100 kilowatt hours during my first month's billing cycle which made me automatically entitled to a generous credit under the plan I had signed up for. There were absolutely NO CATCHES WHATSOEVER. The bill was simple, concise, and honest with no "hidden charges" that I wasn't already expecting.

I've already received top-notch customer support from team leader Roberto (ext. 13272) and Lynn (ext. 3276). Roberto originally signed me up after thoughtfully explaining how everything works and Lynn later went over my first bill with me and explained all the different payment options available and helped me set up automatic monthly drafts from my checking account.

She even congratulated me on receiving my credit!

Lynn and Roberto definitely went over and beyond and I'm already spoiled. I wish more companies had such high-caliber professionals providing customer support.

I deeply respect that Veteran Energy makes generous contributions from their own profits to such a large number of wonderful organizations whose sole mission is to help America's veterans.

Because my cousin - Kenneth - was killed in Vietnam in the early 1970's, I chose the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) as my charity of choice.

I believe one would be hard-pressed to find a better electricity provider than Veteran Energy. **==
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike Y. from Ballinger on June 14th, 2016


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
An excellently ran company...
...and it shows in the customer service. I just got off the phone with Diamond, who helped me choose and sign up for a new plan. Engaging young man, courteous, very knowledgeable. The weekly emails with my usage is excellent and a nice touch for customers. I've never had a delivery problem with my electricity, nor any billing conflicts. A far more customer-friendly than the company I used before. I highly recommend Veterans Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Washushae from Allen, TX on April 9th, 2019
Bringing back compassion in customer service!
In a world where many are quick to complain but less likely to praise, my husband and I humbled but the experience with Veteran Energy. We were dealing with a nightmare of a situation with our previous electricity provider where we were left without power in freezing temps for 24 hours. We were unsure where to turn due to an internal error by the previous company. We were stressed, exhausted and frustrated to say the least.

My husband researched and found that Veteran Energy provides a discount to military and veterans. Great bonus first off considering most rates per kWh and hidden fees we were able to find after digging into many of the rate plans found. After contacting them and speaking to Cameron we instantly felt we were in good hands. We had to place a call back at our request and spoke to Marcos and then his supervisor Roberto (for a positive reason). The integrity (yes we are saying this about a utility company), dignity, compassion, patience and dignity shown from start to finish left us truly humbled by our experience. We are truly thankful for the time, attention to detail and quickness of each member of the Veteran Energy team we spoke with. Each one of these representatives from Veteran Energy reminded us of what customer service truly is. They are a great asset to this company and represent the face of the company well. In a world where it seems most companies have forgotten what customer service is it was a breath of fresh air to have this experience with this company.

Thank you to each one of you (Cameron, Marcos & Roberto) for the outstanding customer service we received and for making this such a personable experience! Thank you for restoring the trust and faith we had lost! We are so glad to be a new Veteran Energy customer!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mgngrz3 from Arlington, TX on February 9th, 2018



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
ELECTRIC SERVICE
ALL THINGS SEEM TO BE GOOD WITH VETERAN ENERGY EXCEPT THERE WAY OF BILLING, THEY TOOK OVER ANOTHER ELECTRIC COMPANY WE WERE USING LAST FALL AND WE HAVE BEEN WITH THEM 6 MONTHS AND THE DUE DATE HAS BEEN A DIFFERENT DAY EVERY TIME SO IT IS HARD TO MAKE YOUR BUDGET WORK WHEN DUE DATES ARE DIFFERENT EACH MONTH.
OTHER THAN THAT ALL SEEMS TO BE GOOD.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S. WHEELER from Lindale, TX on April 4th, 2021
Great service
Veteran energy offers great service to me and also to our veterans....Very impressed!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lara from Houston on October 13th, 2011



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Beware and Stay Away!
The pricing and service was not bad but their customer service and sales team ended up cheating me by falsely signing me up renewing my contract and then later billing me for breaking of the contract. After 12 months my service was up; I received a sales call and I told them over the phone NO I did not want to renew the contract as I was in the process of moving overseas. Naturally I called to disconnect and I paid the final bill. I left overseas and did not give them a forwarding address because I was done with them. A year later I return to US and go to purchase a Home when all of a sudden I see my credit rating has negative hits on it from Veteran's Energy. They opened up 3 lines each for $348 which took my credit rating down over 150 points. I called and they told me that I had early termination fee which they charged because I renewed the contract and then canceled that same month. I told them I did not renew and then they said they outsource their sales team and cannot verify. They admitted that I was never late on payment nor delinquent on actual services just on the early cancellation fee plus late fees on top of that.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frustrated Traveler from Houston on October 12th, 2016
Horrible Experience
Terrible company. They kept me in the dark about payments and requirements. Customer service was terrible. I spent over an hour on the phone trying to sort out what I needed to do. Worst experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frustrated Customer from Dallas on August 26th, 2016



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

38 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
ZERO STAR - WORSE COMPANY EVER
Like everyone else here, I was ripped off by veteran energy! I used to pay $75 for my energy bill every month than Infinite energy sold my contract to veteran energy and my bill kept increasing for the next three months to $200 then $250 then to $270 and I called them saying I have never used this much energy ever in a 900sq ft apartment. It wasn't even possible for me to use that much energy especially in the mild Dallas winter weather. I went from using less than 800kWh each month to 2000kWh each month. I MEAN COME ON!! How is that even possible?!??! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Their customer service sucks and basically told me that if nothing is wrong with the meter than it is my fault. I read other reviews and this same SCAM is happening to everyone. On top of this, they told me they were going to cancel my plan when I moved out and they never did. So now I have to beg for money back that they stole from me. The worst experience ever and they have stolen hundreds from me now with no hope of me getting it back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Meg from Plano, TX on May 5th, 2021
Dishonest
I was with Infinite Energy happily for many years. I had no idea Veterans Energy took over my account. Unknown to me they didn't keep up with my autopay. Any other company (mortgage, auto loans) when my loan is switched I haven't had to re set-up this information. They sent notices showing my monthly usage and bill but no indication that my bill wasn't being paid. I now have $$$ in late fees and penalties. Very dishonest. My monthly bill has went up considerably. What I've previously paid in my highest usage month is now what I'm having to pay for my lowest usage months. Not believable since we put our home on Eco-mode in March and we were gone for 2 weeks during that month!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melanie from Abilene, TX on May 2nd, 2021
Nightmare Experience with Over billing
My energy provider sold out to Veteran Energy. I got a disconnect notice from Veteran Energy with no idea they were the new provider. I had locked into a 3 year plan with Infinite Energy for a flat rate of $63.74 per month. Once Veteran's took over I got extra charges every month for going over the 1000Kwh plan. In my small apartment I never went over with Infinite Energy even in the summer months. Veteran Energy takes over in January when we seldom used the AC and never used the furnace and all the sudden I am supposedly using over 1000 Kwh.
We contracted to buy a house with a closing date of March 1st I called on Feb. 27th to transfer service and was told they couldn't do that due to they didn't provide power to that subdivision, only 7 miles away. It seemed they just wanted out of the low rate I locked into a few years earlier. I told them I was closing on the my new home on March 1st and if they couldn't transfer service to disconnect service to my current address on March 8. I found a different provider to start service on my new home on March 1st and we moved to the new house on March 6th. After moving I was thinking Veteran Energy disconnected my service on March 8 the last day of the cycle.
They did not disconnect my service. We kept the keys on the apartment until March 27, We turned in the keys that day because the lease wasn't up until the 28th. The apartment management after recieving keys change the power into their name on Monday the 29th. I got a bill forwarded to my new address for power from 3/9 to 4/9. So, I called Veterans to explain I had service canceled on 3/8. The representative was nice and said she would have a supervisor call me. I got a call from a young arrogant man who said he had reviewed the call from 2/27 and I had said I wanted power turned off on 3/8 but it wasn't clear that I actually wanted it turned off. He said I said I would call back. What I said was turn if off on 3/8 and if before then if I changed my mind on the date I would call back. But, that wasn't the way they heard it. I said alright I will pay the last bill but quit billing me. The supervisor said no, you will get another bill now because your cancelation date is today. I hung up.
The next day I got an email saying my bill was now over a $370 due to early cancelation fees.
I called back and got hold of a nice lady named Lisa and she looked into the situation and put in a work order to cancel the early termination fee since they said they couldn't transfer my service. I reminded her the power for the apartment was change to the apartment management company on 3/29 and didn't want to see another bill for that address. She said I wouldn't. I am hoping that is the case. Long story short, I don't advise using this company. They were over charging me for the few months I had them. I tried to follow up with Centerpoint about my actual power usage in the three months I was with Veteran Energy and they said they could tell me but I needed the meter number. I looked on the side of the apartment build where there was 30 meter and there was not indication which meter belonged to the units. I even ran into a Centerpoint Tech on site at the apartment complex before I moved out and asked him if he could tell which meter went to each apartment unit he said he had no way of telling.
So, I couldn't verify my actual energy consumption. Good Riddance I don't have to use Veteran Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unsatisfied Customer from Katy, TX on April 21st, 2021
Horrible Service - Do Not Use
My service was transferred from Infinite Energy to Veterans. I never received a notice of transfer, my first communication was a disconnection notice and a late fee. I called and made a payment and requested to speak to someone to remove the late fee..... no one ever called back.
When the transfer took place they changed my billing cycle. I called to clarify how they were billing and the rep stated she could not answer that question....... I asked to speak to a manager she stated that she could offer a callback from a manager...... no one ever called back.
I tried again in Feb to understand how they were billing because it seemed I had a bill every 2 weeks from them. Again, rep could not explain their billing cycle and why my dates for billing from the previous month was significantly different.....I asked to speak to a manager....... she stated a manager was not available and they would call me back. No one called me back. I moved my service in February, I received a bill from Veterans for $150 for an early termination fee. I called to dispute the early termination fee, the rep was unable to assist and guess what......she stated she would have someone to call me back within 24-48 hours......the service is absolutely deplorable!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rock from Dallas, TX on April 14th, 2021
Do not choose Veteran Energy!
We have had Veteran Energy for years now. We renewed a contract called the Nest last year. We were supposed to receive a Nest Thermostat as part of the promotion. It never came. We have called many times. They said the promotion is over and they are sorry. They said they are giving some away and we can enter to win. Absolutely unacceptable!! Who does business this way? They have done nothing to make ot right. We have done everything on our end of the agreement but they have failed to fulfill their end. Shame on them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Carters from Belton, TX on April 12th, 2021
Worst Company (DO NOT CHOOSE THEM)
I have been with Veteran Energy for 3 years until they switched to a new company and/or were bought by someone else. I have called every month WITH PROBLEMS regarding my bill since January when the new company took over with no help. I NEVER needed to call for the previous owner. This month the problem is: It is clearly on my bill a credit due but I was told to pay the full amount (which I did) and the next month statement will display my credit. Now my next bill does not show the credit and it is as simple as a -+ cancel each other out and they do not get it ALTHOUGH it says it on my bill the credit I was due.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lynn Ellis from Richmond, TX on April 8th, 2021
Poor service
I was with Informant Energy and they sold my contract to Veterans. Well my price per kilowatt went up 3 cents then tried to make payment arrangements during the freeze in Texas and they did not make them the agent whom I could barely understand said he put it on my account then I got a disconnect notice so had to borrow money to pay 2 months in full. Can not wait until my contract is up. Very dissatisfied!!?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helen M from Fort Worth, TX on March 27th, 2021
Poor service
I was with Informant Energy and they sold my contract to Veterans. Well my price per kilowatt went up 3 cents then tried to make payment arrangements during the freeze in Texas and they did not make them the agent whom I could barely understand said he put it on my account then I got a disconnect notice so had to borrow money to pay 2 months in full. Can not wait until my contract is up. Very dissatisfied!!?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Helen M from Fort Worth, TX on March 27th, 2021
Veteran's Energy is not the same
Veteran Energy USA is owned by "Value Brands", sounds like walmart, but walmart is better... since being illegally switched with out warning, or my knowledge, they've harassed me, shut my power off because I was paying the old company (Veteran's Energy US, not USA.. see what they did?). They've confirmed my account is now closed and in good standing, 3 times, but keep coming back and demanding more $ that they say I still owe for back payments, even before they illegally switched my account, and for a bill incurred AFTER I switched to a new reputable company.

This company does not care about customers or veterans, it's a shell company to scam you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disgruntled Texas Vet from Round Rock, TX on March 18th, 2021
Poor billing practice and the rates are Not good.
Double billed
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Moses from Royse City, TX on March 16th, 2021


Recommended Electricity Plans