Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Y.E.P. are the order experience, rated at 2.2 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.1 of 5.
5 Stars
8%
 
4 Stars
16%
 
3 Stars
8%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
60%
 

Recent Good Review from BIL

Much better than listed.
I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BIL from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Y.E.P.


Our Analysis of Y.E.P.

Market Perception
1.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Community Outreach
0.5 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Much better than listed.
I have been with YEP for more than 8 8 years. Rates are much better my former company Reliant. My highest bill was less than 60% of my previous company's highest bill. Renewals are a snap. Never had any complaint. No surprise fees. I've been recommending YEP to friends and family. Surprised to read about the negative experience of some posters. Mine has been positive all the way. I use direct pay through my CC.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BIL from Houston, TX on July 2nd, 2020
Thank you for choosing YEP Energy for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Y.E.P.
Texas Based Company with Great Customer Service!!!
As more and more companies come into the Texas market, it is nice to know that YEP is based in Houston and they do not charge you for calling customer service, as many other providers do. I have been with YEP for years and renewing is my easiest task each year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles from Houston on June 30th, 2016
3 years running so far
I've been with YEP now for 3 years running and about to have to renew again. I like to do 100% renewable energy plans (and yes I know that's a relative term, but the more people that get on board the more/better it gets, and we all have to start somewhere so it's worth the extra cent or two per kwh to me to start) and they have typically had one of the best renewable for 12 mo auto pay plans out there if not THE best. I've always been able to see my usage and billing info online (I prefer paperless) and never had ANY issues. I put 5 stars for customer service because the only contact I've had with them is when I renew each year and they typically offer me a better rate than their going plan because I'm an existing customer. I don't get marketing calls or other material emailed to me. It's almost out of site out of mind except for the monthly email I get letting me know my bill is ready to view (autopay).
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Barrett from Houston on January 8th, 2014
YEP
Yep has been o good quality REP in this past year, and I would recommend their services.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Layne from Irving on August 14th, 2013
LOVE THEM!
We switched from Txu about 3 years ago to Yep, and I have never been happier! The service is great(if we ever have problems- only had 1 issue in the beginning) and great prices! We have moved twice, and kept Yep! Love them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cameron M. from Dallas on July 12th, 2012
Great affordable service
We love this service, it is cheap with no problems
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary from Temple on January 10th, 2011



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Very good
I've had YEP for about four years. Except for the fact that they terminated their 1/2 cent discount for credit card paying, they've been very good. Good rates, too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

George Cortes from Bedford on June 8th, 2014
Good Company
Reading through all the reviews on different companies, you find a lot of negative, so I felt some positive was in order here. I have been with YEP for 4 Years, and I'm on my 2nd renewal. They have good rates (always competitive), acceptable customer service, no fee surprises, and they don't require constant bill monitoring if you use eBill. I talk to them every 2 tears and I'm set. No problems here.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KH from Shady Shores on January 23rd, 2014
No major issues for 12 months
We've had YEP for about a year as they had the cheapest fixed rate contracts, for our area for our kwh, many do not realize that most companies charge MORE per KWH if you use less than 1000 per month, we average at 500, we're only switching because our contract ends in Oct and I've discovered most the major companies start offering lower rates in the fall...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stephanie from Houston on October 8th, 2013
TopazLace
I have had this electric provider for 8 years. Never had a problem with them at all. No billing mistakes, rate is .054 & I am quite pleased with my experience overall.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Texastopaz from San Angelo on July 19th, 2013
Just as Competitive as Other Companies, Excellent Customer Service
I have used several providers since the beginning of Deregulation in Texas, this company has always been just as competitive and unlike many other companies, they actually breakdown the Energy and Transmission charges. To some it may seem like a "hidden fee" but other companies just bundle it all up, I like that I can see the two seperate charges. Once I was charged a $7.95 "monthly service fee" for usage less than 1,000 kwh, because my billing dates were not a full month, their customer service representative was happy to waive that fee. Our contract is expiring soon and we will be signing up again, hopefully for a longer term as we have been extremely pleased.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry G from Galveston on December 7th, 2012
Thanks for such great service
I've been a happy customer for over 3 years; used to have TXU for a very long time and even when they keep offering me $300 to switch back to them I will never do, my bills are always reasonable and fair and as long as they keep business the way they do, I will stay with them for as long as as Live :) Thanks Yep Texas!!! You rock!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marlen from Killeen on September 8th, 2012
Very pleased
Been with them nearly 2 years, with three different meters/esiid's, all at the same time. I have never had a problem with them, and when I contact them, I always have received great service. Their rates aren't quite as low as some others, but after reading about all of the changes in extra charges after you sign up with most of the other companies, I'm staying with YEP.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Will from Azle on August 4th, 2011
These guys rock
These guys have the best customer service. After I called with what i thought was an error on my bill, they talked with me and explained the TDSP fees. I never knew. Anyway, Johnny was kind enough to take me through it. thanks for the low rate and the respect.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Anne from Dallas on July 27th, 2011
Excellent
After years with txu, and being ripped off on charges, I switched to YEP. I
am glad I did! No problems, excellent rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeff from Terrell on June 12th, 2011
No serious problems in two years
I have been with YEP for two years, and experienced zero serious problems. The only thing I was a slight bit unhappy with was the first time my contract was about to expire, I was not notified, or sent any offers to renew. I phoned and got an offer that was better than what I was paying so I renewed on the phone. Super rate!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Oncor Service Area Outside Dallas on May 28th, 2011


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Competitive pricing for new customers
When you first sign up with YEP, you can get a great deal - but once it's time to renew your contract, they'll roll you over onto a month to month. Be sure to compare their renewal offer with the going rate that other providers are charging, as they were a little more expensive than others and it saved me a couple hundred by switching away from them with a 6 month lock in elsewhere.

Also, you cannot update your payment information online, you have to call into their customer support. Their customer support isn't friendly, but they will update your information and I never had a billing issue. I see no reason not to use them, so long as they give you a competitive rate and you pay your bill on time, every time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thomas from Plano on October 2nd, 2013
It's not LOVE but more....ehh
I've had a few issues with talking to customer service and WAS about resigning my term WITH them! The CSA's answers were ambiguous and not helpful at all. I've been searching for a new provider with a decent GREEN plan (gotta do my part for my beloved Texas!) but I'm getting frustrated and will probably just resign with YEP.

I don't dislike them but I don't LOVE them either......I guess I'm not that savvy when I get bombarded with all the fine print!

PS: What promotions????
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl from Crowley on July 26th, 2013
YEP is okay
I've had YEP energy for a little over a year. I
haven't had any problems with them and I
especially like the fact that online bill pay
is so easy. The only thing I wonder about is
that when I signed up for their contract, I
signed up for 10 or 11 cents per kwh, but every
time I get my bill it says my avg price was 12
or more per kwh. I don't know if that's a
common thing among all providers. This was the
first time I had ever had to choose my own
electricity company, so I'm not sure about the
tiny details.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jennifer from Round Rock on June 18th, 2010
Great doing business w/ YEP
Only complaint is the tedious payment screen. Does not save any previous infor so must monthly type ALL info regarding my account.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vanessa from Liverpool on October 28th, 2009
Green Energy Plan Penalizes Conservation
I signed up for YEP's 100% renewable energy plan and they charge me a monthly fee of $7.95 for using less than 1000 kwh per month. Therefore, YEPs "Green" Earth Plan actually penalizes me for wanting to conserve energy!! What a joke.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ben from Houston on August 7th, 2009
YEP Opinion
Easy sign up and good rate. Short wait for customer service reps.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bo from Bedford on May 12th, 2009



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Stuff they don't make clear up front
Yes, auto-pay is an option, but if you don't choose it, you get charged a percentage of the bill. Since I HATE auto-pay, I decided to change companies. Lo and behold, a $9.95 undescribed charge on the last billing. Decided to forget about it and be glad we're gone!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ELD from Fort Worth on April 22nd, 2016
Read the EFL!!!!
I hate this company!!!!! They are thieves! No customer loyalty! Charge you extra to pay your own bill, or give them your banking information and have their system draft you within a few of your bill being created. If by mail you'll never know the amount drafted and their cheap online services are rarely running as properly. Spoke to 2 or 3 different agents and they are rude and complete idiots. I have received an agent named reine and been lucky to have had him twice now that company needs more of him or he needs a new company. Request to speak to him any time you call!!! I renewed do to his time to explain things clearly, proper communication. Won't be renewing twice though. In overall not a good energy company and there is better out there for your buck. Happy Shopping!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A. Fuller from Dallas on February 23rd, 2015
I like this company
I have been using this company for over six years and have never once had a problem. I have automatic bill pay, and get a discount for authorizing it. I have steady, reliable electric service and the payment transactions each month are flawless. I haven't checked in a long time, but I believe that the rate is low, because I run my almost 2,000 sq ft house for $70 in the winter to $200 in the summer. The other reviews are scary reading, but I have no reason to believe that I am not getting my money's worth, and with never a hassle. I like it that they do not waste our money on advertising or corporate giving, thus keeping rates low. I would (and do!) recommend this company to my friends.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rene from Houston on December 28th, 2012
Scam!
I received my first bill after only 9 days of service. I used 600+ kwh in those 9 days, but because it didn't meet the minimum threshold of usage I was charged a &7.95 service fee. That's 2000+ kwh per month! When I called I asked about the $7.95 charge, and the rep immediately said she could remove it as it was only a partial month. They do this to everyone, and if you don't call they rip you off! I'm considering filing complaints with the PUC and Attorney General. She wasn't very friendly, either.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Roberto from Freeport on August 27th, 2012
Yep, its time to switch.
They refuse to answer basic questions through email.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from on April 18th, 2011
No Customer Service
My 3 experiences with YEP customer service over 3 years were all negative, never any relief from an apparent overcharge or suggestion of another approach to resolve a problem.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kfj from Pflugerville on June 10th, 2010
Good Lord!
I have been with these folks for a couple of years. No problems. I always pay my bill, but in March, I was on a cruise and the bill must have came the day I left. I was 3 days late paying the bill, and they sent a nasty letter threatening to sue me, send my account to a collection agency, etc etc.

I understand them trying to get their money. But this is borderline psychotic. I just switched to another company. Hopefully if I am ever late, they won't threaten me like YEP did.

Seems kind of stupid to be so mean to your best customers if they are only a few days late after years of history never having been late.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Dallas on April 1st, 2010



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

46 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
They may be good upfront, but buyer beware!
I've used YEP Energy for years. Their rates started out a competitive prices. You just can't allow your contract to expire. They DOUBLE if not TRIPLE the cost per KW if no contract signed even for lecacy customers. To receive a bill for approx. $665 for ONE month, 2 person, 2500 sq ft. household is INSANE! Yes they did call to remind me of the expiring contract but I was in hospital and not paying attention to messages. But you would think as a long-time customer they would have worked with me. I paid it and paid it timely via auto-pay BUT you bet I have cancelled their service and will NEVER return hopefully. I'm glad I have a choice in electric providers. This was an assault! Don't put yourself in the position I was in.

Rated Customer Service low because when you call (which rarely did), their reps are all monotone, not cheerful, you feel like you're a bother to them. Resist paying this kind of money for this type of service, no. Note it wasn't the nice person I last spoke to when I got this bill which I just knew had to be a mistake. If it were here on the phone in prior years when called, they would have rec'd a 5.

YEP you should have a much lower Temporary rate for customers who are legacy but contract expires and they haven't yet reached out. Could be legit reasons WHY. Your loss and apparently I lost for a month but lesson learned. I sent at least a dozen referrals to you. Contacted ALL of them and shared this experience. Trust you will lose more with this type of unwarranted treatment of your good customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda B from Dallas, TX on July 29th, 2020
YEP Energy takes pride in offering low fixed price rates to our customer's, however if we are not able to speak to our customers when their current contact is expiring then YEP must arrange for power on their behalf on a month to month basis. During peak months the month to month price can be more expensive.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. If you would like to discuss your account and billing please contact our Customer Care team at 866.937.5937. Agents are available Monday - Friday 830am to 530pm cst.

— Y.E.P.
Horrible Experience
Had a horrible experience right after signing up for electricity through YEP. 1 week after signing up, we came home to no electricity due to erroneous move out order. Out of power the entire weekend. Mistakes happen, but the customer service was horrible when I called the next week and argued with me that I owed connection fee still due to they tried to contact us to confirm details on our fraudulent appearing account prior to shutting off energy, but it was a non-working number and then that we just didnt pick up. This is not true. So frustrated. Very unreasonable people at this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alyssa from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2020
We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with YEP Energy. YEP strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). Please contact our Customer Care department at 866.937.5937 so we may assist with resolving any outstanding issue.
— Y.E.P.
Price gouging
Price gouging- BEWARE
0 Stars
Correspondence fee: $9.95
Payment Processing fee: $15.15 (New charge 09/2019 bill)
Also, somehow my bill went up by $150.00 this month to $331. There are only two people in the house and we are gone all day since school has started. I do not know how the bill could go up by this much in a month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LLM from Keller, TX on October 5th, 2019
Added fees; exorbitant prices
I had to obtain service for 3 months which caused higher pricing. However, not only did they gouge with higher per kWh rates but added fees (a $10 monthly fee, $4.22 payment fee) plus added taxes & regulatory fees common to other sources.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Added Fees from Irving, TX on October 15th, 2018
Run as fast as you can
As many other reviewers have mentioned, YEP Energy advertises low rates per kwH. However, they bill you for administrative fees that amount to more than the electric bill, and then they "claim" there is a gigantic termination fee, and that they will report you to the credit bureau if you don't pay them everything they "claim" you owe them. Also, as others mentioned, they draft your bank account before they send you the bill, and it is almost impossible to decipher what they are charging you for.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jon from Katy on June 21st, 2016
Houstonian
YEP Energy is a SCAM. They have a ton of hidden fees that they don't tell you about. There is no way to escalate complaints, and they will add fees for you calling to complain! I told them their fees were unacceptable since I did not agree to them, so they disconnected my service, and sent me 2 (not 1) bills for disconnection fees; one for the current month, and one of for the next month. Then, I got an additional bill for electric service for 3 months. I called to dispute those bills (since I was already with another provider during those periods), and they said that they could not remove those charges!!!!

How has this company not been shut-down by the state?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Houstonian from Houston on July 23rd, 2015
Switching immediately
Prices are fine,although we receive tempting offers to switch all the time, we hadn't had any issues and didn't want to deal with the hassle of switching. Until today.

Today,on a Monday morning at 7 am when I was about to make my coffee and get ready for work, our power was shut off. We checked the account online, and same as every month, the payment had been successfully charged to the credit card and nothing was past due. When we called,they had our account listed as past due, and the lady said we couldn't talk to someone about it until 830 because that's when they officially "open."

Caled back at 830 (awesome, we're both now late for work and sweating our butts off), the lady told us it was just a "system error" and it would be back on "shortly." No apology or offer to compensate for the extreme inconvenience and time missed from work due to a major error on their part.

Prices not the best out there, customer service is bad, system is obviously glitchy. Unreliable service. We're switching to another service today.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Krissy from Arlington on June 15th, 2015
Run as fast as you can
Horrible customer service, over billed amounts, and by far the worst provider I have dealt with in all my life. Made an agreement with them to pay $59 (that was not owed to them), paid the amount 2 days early and they disconnected my service. My bill actually reflected a credit. I will definitely end my contract with the prompto. You get what you pay for.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Buckley from Fort Worth on February 17th, 2015
Bizarre billing practice
I have been a customer for 10 months. Finally had enough of the billing. Spent 2 hours on phone with them to stop sending fraudulent "Notice of Termination". They told me the notices went out every month because I have a solar panel and they did not know. I said PGE and I could have given you that info at any time. Even after getting info, they said they could not fix their system. I guess only a class action lawsuit may be able for them to get off there butts and stop harrassing paying customers. Oh well, at least I can cancel contract free of any further fees. Look around for better service, many good ones out there.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cliff Knudson from San Jose on December 29th, 2014
Worst ever
Very deceptive and lots of hidden costs. Customer service never helps you with issues and refuses to escalate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yuetong Shen from Houston on September 18th, 2014


Recommended Electricity Plans